Carnatic Music Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Carnatic vocalist Aruna Sairam selected for 2018 Sangita Kalanidhi award

Renowned Carnatic vocalist Aruna Sairam has been selected for 2018 Sangita Kalanidhi award of Music Academy for her contribution to Carnatic music. Under this recognition, she will preside over 92nd annual conference to be held between December 15, 2018 and January 1, 2019. The award will be conferred to her on January 1, 2019 the day of Sadas of the conference.

Other awards

Sangita Kala Acharya award: It will be awarded to Mridhangist Thanjavur R. Ramadoss and vocalist K. Oman Kutty.

T.K. Awards: It will be given to veena player Kalyani Ganesan and nagaswaram player S.R.G. Rajanna.

Musicologist award: It will be given to Dr. Premeela Gurumurthy, the Vice Chancellor, Tamil Nadu University.

Nritiya Kalanidhi award: It will be awarded to veteran danseuse Shanta Dhananjayan.

Sangita Kalanidhi award/title

It is prestigious award/title bestowed annually upon expert of Carnatic Music by Madras Music Academy. The award’s name has been derived from Sanskrit which means treasure of Music and art in English (sangeetha = music, kala = art, nidhi = treasure). This honour is considered one of the highest awards in Carnatic music.

Month: Categories: Awards & Honours


TM Krishna wins 2015-16 Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration

Carnatic vocalist T M Krishna won 30th Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration for 2015 -16 for his services in promoting and preserving national integration in the country.

He will be presented with the honour by Congress president Sonia Gandhi on October 31, 2017 Indira Gandhi’s death anniversary.

TM Krishna

He is one of prominent vocalists in rigorous Carnatic tradition of Indian classical music and also activist who has worked on creating egalitarian spaces for music and breaking down caste-barriers in form. He was also part of movement to help Tamil-dominated and war-ravaged northern province of Sri Lanka rebuild its classical music traditions. He has written and talked on wide range of socio-political issues, including women’s rights, children’s needs, issues that make a society civil or un-civil, and dangers of mentality of war and narrow nationalism. In 2016, he won Ramon Magsaysay award for bringing “social inclusiveness in culture.

Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration

The award was instituted in 1985 by Congress on its centenary year celebrations. It is conferred every year on October 31 for promoting national integration, understanding and fellowship among different communities and cultures of India. The award consists of a citation and a cash prize of Rs. 10 lakh.

Some of the recipients are.S. Subbulakshmi, former prime minister Rajiv Gandhi (posthumously) and former presidents A.P.J. Abdul Kalam and Shankar Dayal Sharma (posthumously), musician A.R. Rahman, Ramakrishna Mission Ashram, poet Gulzar, scientist M.S. Swaminathan, filmmaker Shyam Benegal and lyricist Javed Akhtar.

Month: Categories: Awards & Honours