CBI Current Affairs - 2020

SC appoints CBI SP Vivek Priyadarshi as head of team probing IPL scandal

Supreme Court has appointed Vivek Priyadarshi to head an investigating team to further probe the Indian Premier League (IPL) season 6 spot-fixing and betting scandals.

Decision in this regard was taken by a SC bench comprising Justices T S Thakur and F M I Kalifulla. The bench took this decision on the recommendation of a three member panel headed by former Chief Justice of India (CJI) RM Lodha which was appointed in January 2015.

Vivek Priyadarshi currently is serving as Superintendent of Police (SP) in the anti-corruption cell of the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI). He will succeed 1983-batch Assam-Meghalaya cadre IPS officer B B Mishra as the head of the probe team following his retirement.

SC also has given Priyadarshi liberty to form his own team and seek the services of police officers from the central and state governments as and when required to probe into this case.

Centre appoints Anil Kumar Sinha as new CBI Director

The Centre has appointed senior IPS officer Anil Kumar Sinha as the new Director of the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI). He will take over from Ranjit Sinha who will retire 3rd December 2014.

His name was cleared by the Appointments Committee of Cabinet headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Appointments Committee had shortlisted Anil Sinha’s name from names of about 40 officers shortlisted by the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT).

Earlier Prime Minister Narendra had consulted Selection committee headed by him to clear Sinha’s name.  Selection committee’s collegium comprised of the Prime Minister, Chief Justice of India HL Dattu and the leader of the largest Opposition party (Congress) – Mallikarjun Kharge.

The term of Anil Sinha will be for two years from the date he takes charge.

About Anil Kumar Sinha

  • He is a 1979 batch IPS officer of Bihar cadre.
  • Before appointment as Director of CBI, he was serving as a Special Director in CBI.
  • Before joining CBI, he was posted as additional secretary in the Central Vigilance Commission (CVC). He has also served as DIG and IG in Special Protection Group, New Delhi.
  • In Bihar, he has held various senior positions including ADG (law and order) and ADG (vigilance) before moving to the Centre.
  • He was awarded the police medal for meritorious service in 2000 and the President’s police medal for distinguished service in 2006.