Centenary Celebrations Current Affairs - 2020

Postal Stamp on National Institute of Nutrition released

The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare released a commemorative postal stamp of National Institute of Nutrition. It was introduced under the “Corporate My Stamp” scheme of India Posts. The stamp was released during the completion of Centenary Celebrations of National Institute of Nutrition. The theme of the celebration was “Empowering the nation through nutrition”

Corporate My Stamp Scheme

The scheme was launched in 2016. Under the scheme a corporate entity or an individual can get their photo printed inside the postage stamp at a price of 12 lakh rupees. The stamps can be used for general postal mail. The Postal department has issued customized stamps for e-commerce platforms like Amazon India, HAL, etc.

The scheme helped the Postal Department earn revenue of 2.83 crore rupees in 2016-17.

National Institute of Nutrition

The institute is an Indian public health, nutrition and research center located in Hyderabad. It is one of India’s largest and oldest center under the UCMR-Indian Council of Medical Research. It was founded in 1918 by Sir Robert McCarrison as a laboratory in Coonoor, Tamil Nadu. It was moved to Hyderabad in 1958 and was renamed National Institute of Nutrition.

The institute carries out research in clinical nutrition, endocrinology, ophthalmology, community nutrition, regenerative medicine, molecular biology, etc.

President inaugurates centenary celebrations of Dakshina Bharat Hindi Prachar Sabha

President Ram Nath Kovind has inaugurated centenary celebrations of Dakshina Bharat Hindi Prachar Sabha on 22 September 2018 in New Delhi. DBHPS is an autonomous body functioning under the grant from Union Government.

Dakshina Bharat Hindi Prachar Sabha (DBHPS)

DBHPS is national organisation that aims to improve Hindi literacy among non-Hindi speaking people of South India. It is headquartered in Chennai, Tamil Nadu. Union Government had recognised it as one of the Institutes of National Importance in 1964. It is divided into four divisions one each for south states of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala and Tamil Nadu.

History: DBHPS was established by Annie Besant with support from Mahatma Gandhi in 1918 with sole aim of prorogating Hindi in South India to unite the northern and southern states of the country in greatest interest of integration of the nation. Gandhiji was founder president of DBHPS till his death.