Chairman Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Government reappoints Anil D Sahasrabudhe as AICTE Chairman

Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) has approved renewal of appointment of Prof Anil D Sahasrabudhe as the chairman of the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) till he attains the age of 65 years. He was joined AICTE as Chairman in July 2015.

Anil D Sahasrabudhe

Prof Sahasrabudhe has in his illustrious career of over 30 years and has held several important academic, research and administrative positions. He had graduated from BVB College of Engineering and Technology, Hubli affiliated to Karnataka University in Mechanical Engineering in 1980 with first rank and Gold medal. Subsequently, he obtained Master’s and Doctoral (with UGC Fellowship) degrees from Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bengaluru in 1982 and 1989 respectively. Prior to his appointment as AICTE chairman he was professor of Mechanical Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Guwahati,


AICTE is a statutory body established in November 1945. It comes under the aegis of Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resources Development. It is a national-level council for technical education responsible for planning and coordination of technical education and management of education system in the country. It accredits graduate and post graduate programs at Indian institutions.

Month: Categories: Persons in News


Arvind Saxena appointed as acting Chairman of UPSC

Government has appointed Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) member Arvind Saxena as the acting Chairman of the commission. He will perform the duties of chairman of UPSC with effect from 20 June 2018 till further orders or till completion of his tenure in August, 2020. He will take over charge from incumbent Vinay Mittal who completes his term.

Arvind Saxena is 1978-batch Indian Postal Service officer. He was appointed as member of UPSC in May, 2015 after he completed his stint in Aviation Research Centre (ARC). He has previously worked in Research and Analysis Wing (RAW) after he joined it in 1988. He is specialised in study of strategic developments in neighbouring countries.

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC)

UPSC is constitutional body that conducts prestigious civil services examination for Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS) and Indian Police Service (IPS) and others. It has been established under Article 315 of the Constitution of India. It consists of Chairman and ten Members, who are appointed and removed by President. The chairman and members of the Commission hold office for term of six years or until they attain age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. Article 316 of Constitution deals with appointment and term of office of members.

Month: Categories: Persons in News