Chairman Current Affairs - 2020

Arvind Saxena appointed as acting Chairman of UPSC

Government has appointed Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) member Arvind Saxena as the acting Chairman of the commission. He will perform the duties of chairman of UPSC with effect from 20 June 2018 till further orders or till completion of his tenure in August, 2020. He will take over charge from incumbent Vinay Mittal who completes his term.

Arvind Saxena is 1978-batch Indian Postal Service officer. He was appointed as member of UPSC in May, 2015 after he completed his stint in Aviation Research Centre (ARC). He has previously worked in Research and Analysis Wing (RAW) after he joined it in 1988. He is specialised in study of strategic developments in neighbouring countries.

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC)

UPSC is constitutional body that conducts prestigious civil services examination for Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS) and Indian Police Service (IPS) and others. It has been established under Article 315 of the Constitution of India. It consists of Chairman and ten Members, who are appointed and removed by President. The chairman and members of the Commission hold office for term of six years or until they attain age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. Article 316 of Constitution deals with appointment and term of office of members.

Rocket expert K. Sivan appointed as new chairman of ISRO

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) has appointed rocket scientist K. Sivan as next Secretary of the Department of Space and Chairman of Space Commission and Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO). He will succeed A.S. Kiran Kumar and will have term of three years.

K. Sivan

He is a graduate in aeronautical engineering from Institute of Technology (Madras), ME from Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bengaluru. He had earned doctorate in aerospace engineering from IIT Bombay. He had joined ISRO in 1982 in then young PSLV project and has been project director of the GSLV rocket. Currently he is Director of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC) and was appointed in June 2015.

He also had played key role in developing indigenous Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) MK II and was part of team that ideated on Swadeshi space shuttle (a reusable launch vehicle).

It was Mr Sivan’s expertise that gave ISRO the ability to send 104 satellites in a single mission, setting a world record in February last year. He was the key person who worked on the technicalities of how the satellites would be placed in orbit.

It was his expertise that gave ISRO ability to send 104 satellites in single mission and sett world record in February 2017. He was key person who worked on technicalities of how the satellites would be placed in orbit.