Chess Current Affairs - 2020

Abhijeet Gupta retains Commonwealth Chess championship crown

Grandmaster and former world junior champion Abhijeet Gupta has won the 20th Commonwealth Chess championship crown 2016 held in Colombo, Sri Lanka.

With this victory he has retained the Commonwealth Chess championship crown which was won earlier by him in 19th edition.

Besides, International Master Tania Sachdev also finished with a gold medal. In this edition all the medals were won by the Indians players in the senior category.

Grandmasters S L Narayanan and Deep Chakkravarthy got the silver and bronze medals respectively in the open section.

Harika Dronavalli wins Fide Women’s Grand Prix trophy of Chess

India’s Chess Grand Master Harika Dronavalli has won the Fide Women’s Grand Prix trophy in Chendu, China. It was her maiden career GP title.

She won this title by defeating Russia’s Olga Girya. She finished on 7 points in the round robin tournament which had featured world’s top 12 players.

On the other hadnd India Grand Master Koneru Humpy too rounded off her campaign with a victory to also finish on 7 points. But Harika was declared winner for finishing with a better tie-break record in the tournament.

About Harika Dronavalli

  • Harika had earned the Grandmaster title in July 2011. She is became the second Indian woman chess player (after Koneru Humpy) to achieve the title of Grandmaster.
  • She has won the Commonwealth Women’s Championship three times in 2006, 2007 and 2010. She has also won Bronze medal in 2010 Asian Games in Woman’s individual rapid event.
  • She has won bronze at the Women’s World Chess Championship 2015 (knock-out). She has won also won the individual silver at Women’s World Team Chess Championship 2015.
  • Union Government has bestowed upon her Arjuna Award in 2007.