Chhattisgarh Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

CCEA approves proposal for initiation of 3rd phase of TEQIP

The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA) has approved the proposal for initiation of the Third Phase of Technical Education Quality Improvement Programme (TEQIP).

The project will be implemented as a Central Sector Scheme with total project outlay of 3600 crore rupees.

The Focus States in 3rd Phase of TEOIP are

  • 3 Hill States: Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir and Uttarakhand.
  • 6 Low Income States: Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh
  • 8 North-Eastern States: It includes seven sisters plus Sikkim.
  • Besides, Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands is also focused UT under the 3rd Phase of the Programme.

The major outcomes of TEQIP

  • Better academic standards, through filling up faculty positions, training faculty in better teaching methods, accreditation, improved research outputs in institution in Focus States/UTs.
  • Better administration of the institutions with improved financial and academic autonomy.
  • Better systems for assessment of higher transition rates and student learning.
  • Expeditious and transparent release of funds to institutes by way of Direct Funds Transfer (DFT) System.


  • The TEQIP was launched in 2003 with World Bank assistance as a long term programme to be implemented in three phases.
  • TEQIP-I commenced in 2003 and ended on March 31st, 2009. It covered 127 institutes across 13 States including 18 Centrally Funded Technical Institutions (CFTIs).
  • TEQIP-II commenced in August 2010. It had covered 23 States/Union Territories (UTs) and 191 Institutes (including 26 CFTIs). TEQIP-II will conclude in October, 2016.
  • Both phases of the programme had a positive impact on the infrastructure and educational standards in the technical institutions where they were taken up.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

President gives assent to the Constitution (122nd Amendment) (GST) Bill, 2014

President Pranab Mukherjee has given assent to the Constitution (122nd Amendment) (GST) Bill, 2014 as per Article 368 of the Constitution.

With the assent, bill becomes law and opens road to roll out a new indirect tax regime and gives way for the concept of one nation, one tax.

What is GST?

The GST is a single indirect tax throughout country. It subsumes most of the Central and State indirect taxes such as the Value Added Tax (VAT), excise duty, service tax, central sales tax, additional customs duty and special additional duty of customs.

Note: The Constitution (122nd Amendment) (GST) Bill, 2014 will enter into the statute book as The Constitution (101st Amendment) Bill, 2016.

Key Facts

  • The assent to the Bill will pave the way for setting up a GST Council that will decide the tax rate, cess and surcharges.
  • The Union Government will notify the GST Council. It will be headed by Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and it will comprise state Finance Ministers.
  • Now the Central and State Governments will pass the Central GST, Integrated GST and State GST laws respectively.
  • The CGST and IGST will be drafted on the basis of the model GST law. The IGST law would deal with inter-State movement of goods and services.
  • The States will draft their respective GST (SGST) laws incorporating State-based exemptions.


  • The Bill was passed by the Parliament in August 2016 and was later circulated to the State governments seeking their ratification.
  • As it was constitutional amendment bill dealing with fiscal federalism it was necessary to be ratified by at least 50% legislative Assemblies of states (15 states of total 29).
  • The Bill was sent to presidential assent after 19 States had ratified it by passing resolution with simple majority. Assam was the first state to ratify it.
  • The other States that have passed the bill include Bihar, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Delhi (UT), Nagaland, Maharashtra, Haryana, Sikkim, Mizoram, Telangana, Goa, Odisha, Rajasthan, Arunachal Pradesh and Andhra Pradesh.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App