Chief Ministers Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

V Narayanasamy sworn in as Puducherry CM

Congress Party leader V Narayanasamy was sworn in as Chief Minister of the Union Territory of Puducherry.

He was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Lt. Governor Kiran Bedi at a function held at the historic Gandhi Thidal in Beach Road.

Besides him, 5 Congress legislators A Namassivayam, Shah Jahan, M Kandasamy, R Kamalkannan and Malladi Krishna Rao were also sworn in as ministers.

About V Narayanasamy

  • V Narayanasamy had represented Puducherry in Rajya Sabha for three terms. He had served as Minister of State (MoS) Parliamentary Affairs in UPA-I.
  • In 2009, he was elected to Lok Sabha and had served as Minister of State (MoS) in Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) in UPA II.

Earlier in May 2016, Congress-DMK alliance had emerged victorious in 2016general elections. The alliance had won 17 seats (Congress: 15; DMK:2) in the 30 member Territorial Assembly. It should be noted that Narayanasamy is not a member of the house. He need to become member of house by facing election in 6 months.

Mamata Banerjee sworn-in as West Bengal Chief Minister for a second term

Mamata Banerjee was sworn-in as the Chief Minister of West Bengal for second successive five-year term at oath taking ceremony held on Red Road.

State Governor Keshri Nath Tripathi administered her oath of office and secrecy along with the 42 ministers of her government. Mamata Banerjee is eighth chief minister of West Bengal and the first CM of the state.

About Mamata Banerjee

  • Born on 5 January 1955 in Kolkata, West Bengal. She had started her political career in the Congress party when she was only 15.
  • She had founded All India Trinamool Congress (AITMC or TMC) party in 1997 after separating from the Indian National Congress.
  • In 2011, she became first woman Chief Minister of West Bengal after TMC Congress alliance had emerged victorious in 2011 general election.
  • In the 2011 election, TMC Congress alliance had defeated 34-year-old Communist Party of India (Marxist)-led Left Front government, the longest-serving democratically-elected communist government in the world.
  • She also had served as the Union Minister of Railways twice and was the first woman Railway Minister of India.
  • She also had served as Union Minister of Coal and Union Minister of State for Human Resource Development, Department of Youth Affairs.