Congress Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Pu Zoramthanga has been appointed as new Chief Minister of Mizoram

Mr. Zoramthanga has been sworn in as the Mizoram’s new chief minister of Mizoram. Zoramthanga belongs to the Mizo National Front (MNF). He will be heading a 12-member council. Governor of Mizoram K Rajasekharan administered the oath of office and secrecy during a ceremony at Raj Bhavan in Aizawl, which was taken by Zoramthanga in the Mizo language.

  • This is Zoramthanga’s third stint as the chief CM of Mizoram. Previously, he has led the MNF government in Mizoram in 1998 and 2003.
  • The five cabinet ministers of the new Mizoram government are – Tawnluia, R Lalthangliana, Lalchamliana, Lalzirliana and Lalrinsanga. Mr Tawnluia will also be the deputy chief minister of Mizoram.
  • The six ministers of state in the new Mizoram government are — K Lalrinliana, Lalchhandama Ralte, Lalruatkima, Dr K Beichhua, TJ Lalnuntluanga and Robert Romawia Ralte.

About MNF:

  • The Mizo National Front, also known as MNF, is a regional political party in the state of Mizoram.
  • MNF originated from the Mizo National Famine Front formed by Pu Laldenga. The Mizo National Famine Front was formed to protest against the inaction of the Indian government towards the famine of 1959 in the Mizo areas of Assam.
  • After years of violence and underground activities, it signed the Mizoram Accord in 1986 with the Government of India, giving up secession and violence.

Recent Elections in the state of Mizoram:

  • The elections to the Legislative Assembly of Mizoram were held on 28th November 2018.
  • There are total 40 constituencies in Mizoram.
  • Mizo National Front (MNF) won 26 seats out of 40 seats in the 2018 elections.
  • Indian National Congress won 5 seats and BJP won 1 seat

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

KV Thomas renominated as Chairman of Public Accounts Committee

Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan has renominated Prof. Kuruppassery Varkey Thomas as Chairman of Public Accounts Committee (PAC) for a second term of one year.

For the first term, Thomas was nominated in August 2014. He is the senior Congress Parliamentarian from Ernakulum Constituency, Kerala.

About Public Accounts Commission (PAC)

  • PAC is one of the most important finance committees in the Parliament along with the Committee on Estimates and the Committee on Public Undertakings.
  • It is constituted every year and consists of 22 members – 15 from Lok Sabha and 7 from Rajya Sabha.
  • The members from Lok Sabha are elected from amongst its members according to the principle of proportional representation by means of single transferable vote. Members from Rajya Sabha elected by that House in like manner are associated with the Committee.
  • Speaker usually appoints the Chairman of the PAC. It should be noted that a minister cannot be elected to as member of Committee.
  • It should be noted that since 1967, Chairman of PAC is senior member of the main Opposition party.
  • Function of PAC: The key function of PAC is to examine annual audit reports of Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) after they are tabled in Parliament by President.

Prior to KV Thomas, senor BJP leader Murli Manohar Joshi was chairman of PAC for four consecutive years during 15th Lok Sabha (2009-2014).

Note- CAG usually submits 3 audit reports. They are audit report on appropriation accounts, audit report on finance account and audit report on public undertakings.

For additional information about PAC- Click here

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App