Cricket records Current Affairs - 2020

Rishabh Pant: Fastest Indian wicket-keeper to claim 50 dismissals in Test cricket

Rishabh Pant became fastest Indian wicket-keeper to claim 50 dismissals in Test cricket. He broke previous record held by MS Dhoni for India. Pant claimed his 50th test dismissal in his 11th test during India vs West Indies. MS Dhoni had taken 15 tests to get to 50 Test dismissals.

Pant’s records

He achieved his 50 dismissals in Test cricket milestone by dismissing West Indies’ Kraigg Brathwaite in 2nd innings of West Indies in the second Test. In December 2018, he had equaled world record for most catches in test cricket by wicket-keeper in Test match against Australia at Adelaide. In this test match, he had taken 11 catches. Other cricketers to hold the record include Jack Russell (England) and AB de Villiers (South Africa).

Virat Kohli: Fastest batsman to reach 20,000 international runs

India captain Virat Kohli (30) became fastest batsman to reach 20,000 international runs, across formats. He achieved this milestone in only his 417th international innings ( comprising 131 in Tests, 223 in ODIs and 62 in T20Is.), surpassing previous record held by Sachin Tendulkar and Brian Lara. Both Tendulkar and Lara scored 20,000 international runs in 453 innings. With this, Kohli became overall 12th batsman and third Indian after Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid to reach 20,000 international runs.

Note: Sachin Tendulkar leads runs charts in ODIs and Tests with 18426 and 15921 runs respectively. He had scored 10 runs in only T20 international he played against South Africa. Rahul Dravid has scored 10889 and 13288 runs in ODIs and Tests, respectively. He also played one T20I and made 31 runs in it.

Recent Records of Kohli

  • He is fastest batsman to score 11,000 ODI runs. He had achieved this feat recently on June 16, 2019, during ICC World Cup 2019 between India and Pakistan played at  Old Trafford, England. He has scored 6613 runs in Tests and 2263 runs in T20Is so far.
  • He also had scored his fourth successive half-century that made him only third captain in the history of World Cup to register four consecutive 50-plus scores. The other skippers to attain the feat are Graeme Smith (in 2007) and Aaron Finch (2019).