Cricket Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Rahul Johri takes charge as first ever CEO of BCCI

Rahul Johri took charge as first ever chief executive officer (CEO) of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) at its headquarters in Mumbai, Maharashtra.

The appointment and creation of post of BCCI CEO was based on the lines of key recommendations of the three-member Justice RM Lodha Committee.

As a CEO, Mr. Johri will directly report to the BCCI secretary Ajay Shirke and shall have freedom to work independently in BCCI’s set-up that was traditionally controlled by honorary office-bearers.

He will be responsible for the smooth functioning of operations, stakeholder management of BCCI and also build robust strategies for further promoting the sport of cricket.

About Rahul Johri

  • Prior to this appointment, he was working as Asia Pacific’s Executive Vice-President for Discovery Networks and General Manager (GM) for South Asia.
  • He has rich experience of 20 plus years in the media industry and is widely respected in the broadcasting industry for converting Discovery to a 11-channel bouquet.
  • He was associated with Discovery Networks for the last 15 years and was leading its South Asia operations for the past 8 years.

Month: Categories: Persons in NewsSports


Sunrisers Hyderabad win 2016 Indian Premier League title

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) has won the ninth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). It is their maiden IPL title.

In the final match played at Chinnaswamy stadium in Bangalore (Karnataka), SRH defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by eight runs.

SRH had won the toss in final summit and had chosen to bat first. Batting first, SRH had set the target of 209 runs to their opponent team. However the RCB failed to reach the target score.

It should be noted that RCB has lost 3 finals after they were defeated in finals of 2009 and 2011 editions.

Brief score: Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) 208-7 in 20.0 Overs (David Warner 69, Yuvraj Singh 38, Ben Cutting 39*, Sreenath Arvind 2-30, Chris Jordan 3-45) beat Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) 200-7 in 20.0 Overs (Chris Gayle 76, Virat Kohli 54, Ben Cutting 2-35) by 8 runs.

Man of the Match:  Ben Cutting (SRH).

Month: Categories: Persons in NewsSports