Cricket Current Affairs - 2020

BCCI re-appoints Rajeev Shukla as IPL Governing Council chairman

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has re-appointed Rajeev Shukla as chairman of the Indian Premier League (IPL) Governing Council.

Previously, he was IPL chairman till 2013 but had resigned from the post after the IPL ‘spot-fixing’ scandal.

Former Indian Cricket team Captain Sourav Ganguly was also selected in the IPL Governing Council.

Head of Senior national selection committee, Sandeep Patil was retained for another season in the IPL Governing Council along with Team India Director Ravi Shastri.

Former captain Anil Kumble also has been retained as chairman of the Technical committee IPL Governing Council while Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia will head the powerful finance committee.

Other members of IPL Governing Council are

  • Jagmohan Dalmiya (BCCI president) – Chairman of the Constitution Review Committee.
  • Chetan Desai- Head the Marketing Committee.
  • Gokaraju Gangaraju- In-charge of the Tours and Programmes Committee.
  • Biswarup Dey- Head of the Media Committee.
  • Anurag Thakur- Head of Affiliations Committee.

New Zealand cricketer Kyle Mills retires from international cricket

New Zealand cricketer Kyle Mills on 1 April 2014 announced retirement from international cricket.

He made this announcement after New Zealand lost to Australia in ICC World Cup 2015 final.

Kyle Mills cricket career spanned 14 years. In his entire cricket career he had played 19 Tests matches, 170 One Day Internationals (ODIs) and 42 T20s.

He had made his international debut in a ODI against Pakistan in 2001 and test debut in 2004 against England.

In 170 ODI matches he had taken 240 wickets, second highest wicket taker among New Zealand bowlers after Daniel Vettori. In 19 tests matches, he had taken 44 wickets and 43 wickets in his 42 Twenty20 internationals.