Cricket Current Affairs - 2020

Virat Kohli became fastest cricketer to reach 6000 ODI runs

Indian cricketer Virat Kohli has become the fastest cricketer in the history to reach 6000 one-day international run mark.

He achieved this run mark during his 53-run knock in India’s third ODI against Sri Lanka. He overtook legendary West Indian Vivian Richards’ record. Virat Kohli made this debut, while playing his 144th match and 136th innings at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium at Uppal, Hyderabad.

Vivian Richards had reached the milestone in 1989 by playing 141 innings in 156 matches.  He is the eighth Indian cricketer to have scored 6000 or more runs and 47th overall.

ICC Test and ICC ODI Team of the Year : Key Facts

Sri Lankan cricket captain Angelo Mathews has been named as captain of the ICC Test Team of the Year 2014. Indian cricket captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was named as the captain of ICC ODI Team of the Year 2014. He has been selected in the ICC ODI team of the year for the eight time (seventh year in a row), while fifth year as a captain of the team.

Selection Process for ICC Test and ICC ODI team of the Year

  • The ICC Test team of the Year was chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by the ICC’s Cricket Committee chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble.
  • The selection panel also included Jonathan Agnew, a former England international and now a respected broadcaster/journalist, ex-Sri Lanka opener Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming, and Betty Timmer, former Chair of the ICC Women’s Committee.
  • The selected team was announced at the ICC Headquarters in Dubai, where ICC Chief Executive David Richardson also announced the short-lists for the LG ICC Awards 2014.
  • The team was selected on the basis of their 12-month performance between 26 August 2013 and 17 September 2014.
  • The panel selected the team after discussing various combinations and took into account several scenarios like opposition, pitch conditions and match situations.

Selected ICC ODI Team of the Year 2014 (in batting order)

  1. David Warner (Australia)
  2. Kane Williamson (New Zealand)
  3. Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)
  4. AB de Villiers (South Africa)
  5. Joe Root (England)
  6. Angelo Mathews (Sri Lanka) (captain)
  7. Mitchell Johnson (Australia)
  8. Stuart Broad (England)
  9. Dale Steyn (South Africa)
  10. Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka)
  11. Tim Southee (New Zealand)
  12. Ross Taylor (New Zealand) (12th man)

 Selected ICC ODI Team of the Year 2014 (in batting order)

  1. Mohammad Hafeez (Pakistan)
  2. Quinton de Kock (South Africa)
  3. Virat Kohli (India)
  4. George Bailey (Australia)
  5. AB de Villiers (South Africa)
  6. MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper) (captain)
  7. Dwayne Bravo (West Indies)
  8. James Faulkner (Australia)
  9. Dale Steyn (South Africa)
  10. Mohammad Shami (India)
  11. Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka)
  12. Rohit Sharma (India) (12th man)

About ICC Test and ICC ODI Team of the Year

The ICC Test and ICC ODI Team of the Year is an honor awarded each year by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It recognizes the top players from around the world. The teams do not actually compete, but exists solely as an honorary entity.