Denmark Current Affairs - 2020

India ranks 118th on UN’s World Happiness Index 2016

India ranked 118th out of 157 countries on the United Nations’ World Happiness Index (WHI) 2016.

It was revealed by the fourth World Happiness Report 2016 published by the Sustainable Development Solutions Network (SDSN), a global initiative for the UN.

Key Highlights of Report

  • Top 10 countries: Denmark (1st), Switzerland (2nd), Iceland (3rd), Norway (4th) and Finland (5th), Canada (6th), Netherlands (7th), New Zealand (8th), Australia (9th) and Sweden (10th).
  • 5 Least happiest countries: Rwanda (152nd), Benin (153rd), Afghanistan (154th), Togo (155th), Syria (156th) and Burundi (157th).
  • Among BRICS: Brazil (17th), Russia (56th), China (83rd), South Africa (116th) and India (118th).
  • India’s Neighbours: Nepal (78th), China (83rd), Bhutan (84th), Pakistan (104th), Bangladesh (110th), Sri Lanka (117th) and Afghanistan (154th).
  • For the first time, the report has given a special role to the measurement and consequences of inequality in the distribution of well-being among countries and regions.
  • Countries where there was less inequality were happier overall. Top five countries have strong social security systems

About World Happiness Report

  • The report aims at influencing government policy and is prepared based upon study undertaken by Gallup World Poll.
  • The World Happiness Index ranks nations based upon score of different variables on a scale running from 0 to 10. These variables include real GDP per capita, healthy life expectancy, corruption levels and social freedoms
  • India was ranked 111th in 2013 and 117th in 2015.

Three British scientists win 2016 Brain Prize

Three British scientists have won a prestigious 2016 Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Prize (also known as Brain Prize) for giving vital insight how the human brain remembers, learns and navigates.

These scientists are

Timothy Bliss: He is a visiting worker at the Crick Institute in London.

Graham Collingridge: He is professor of neuroscience in anatomy at the University of Bristol. He is also head of the Department of Physiology at the University of Toronto.

Richard Morris: He is a professor of neuroscience at the University of Edinburgh

Key highlights of their research

  • Shown how neurons in the hippocampus collaborate and provide a basis for understanding how humans remember.
  • Hippocampus is located deep in the centre of the brain. It is the brain’s learning portal that enables us to store information.
  • Shown a phenomenon that is called long-term potentiatione. how the connection between brain cells in the hippocampus can be strengthened through repeated stimulation.
  • Their research also provided better tools for understanding serious diseases such as depression, epilepsy and drug addiction.

About Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Prize

  • Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Prize largest prize for neuroscience in the world.
  • It is bestowed upon one or more scientists who have distinguished themselves by an outstanding contribution to European neuroscience and who are still active in research.
  • Founded: 2011 by the Lundbeck Foundation of Denmark.
  • Prize carries: monetary award of Denmark’s one million euro ($1,45,751).
  • Prize criteria: It is awarded to scientist of any nationality although, research for which they are nominated must be carried in Europe or in collaboration with European researchers.