Donald Trump Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Space Force: Trump officially launches new US military service

Describing space as the world’s newest war-fighting domain, US President Donald Trump officially launched US military ‘Space Force’ at an army base near Washington. Trump highlighted that the Space Force will help to deter aggression and control ultimate high ground.

What is Space Force?

It is United States’ first new military service in more than 70 years, since Air Force was spun off from US Army in 1947. While Space Force is not designed or intended to put combat troops in space, it will be the provider of forces and will build on work of US Space Command (SpaceCom). SpaceCom was created in August 2019 as the overseer of US military’s space operations.

Space Force would comprise around 16,000 Air Force and civilian personnel and will be funded by an initial US $40million for its first year. Instead of being its own military department, like US Navy, US Army and US Air Force, the Space Force will be administered by Secretary of Air Force.

What will the Space Force actually do?

It is not intended to put troops into orbit, but will protect US assets like hundreds of satellites used for communication and surveillance. This space mission comes as US military chiefs see China and Russia making advancements in military final frontier. The space mission is part of a broader vision of achieving American dominance in space as amid grave threats to US national security.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

US President Donald Trump impeached

On December 18, 2019, Donald Trump became the third President to be impeached by the US House. He was accused of enlisting foreign government to investigate political rival before 2020 election.


The House called for voting process alleging that the President pressurized Ukraine to announce investigations against his political rival Joe Biden ahead of 2020 elections.

The Democrats had majority in the house to impeach the President. It is necessary to prove the charges at the senate as well, where a voting process with two-third majority is essential for conviction.

Impeachment in American History

So far only two American presidents have been impeached. In 1998, President Bill Clinton was impeached on charges of sexual relationship with his intern. However, the senate acquitted him. Before him, in 1868, President Andrew Johnson was impeached. He was acquitted by one vote in the Senate.

In 1974, President Nixon resigned over water gate corruption charges. The judiciary committee approved the articles of impeachment before the house could even pass them.

Impeachment in the US

Article 2 of the US constitution lists the procedure of impeachment of US president. Impeachment does not remove the president from power. It is an accusation, when proved the Senate should decide whether to convict the president of the charges contained.

The impeachment process in the US begins with an investigation by House Committee. When the committee finds out enough evidences to prove the accusation of the president, it enters the house. The house votes and if the majority agrees, the proceedings is taken to the senate. The trial at the senate is overseen by the Chief Justice of Supreme Court. If two-thirds of the senators find the president guilty, he is removed and the vice president takes over.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App