Duleep Trophy Current Affairs

India Blue wins Duleep Trophy tournament

Gautam Gambhir-led India Blue has won the inaugural day/night 2016-17 Duleep Trophy Cricket tournament played with a pink ball. The 2016–17 was 55th season of Duleep Trophy.

In the final match held in Greater Noida, India Blue defeated India Red, captained by Yuvraj Singh, by a massive 355 runs.

Ravinder Jadeja, who bagged 5 wickets in the second innings, finished the game with a 10-wicket haul. Cheteshwar Pujara was named player of the match.

About Duleep Trophy

  • The Duleep Trophy is a domestic first-class cricket tournament played between teams representing geographical zones of India. The Tournament was instituted in 1961-62 by BCCI.
    The tournament is named after Kumar Shri Duleepsinhji of Nawanagar. It was contested by three teams, namely India Red, India Blue and India Green.
  • In June 2016, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had changed the feature of tournament featuring day/night matches and to be played with pink ball.


Central Zone wins Duleep Trophy

The Central Zone team defeated the South Zone team to win the 2014 edition of the Duleep Trophy. The Central Zone team was led by Piyush Chawla, who helped clinch the narrow win. Of the total 13 games played by the five teams, the South Zone dominated 10 , but the 3 dominated by the Central Zone changed the game. The Central Zone beat the South Zone by a very small margin of 9 runs to claim the Trophy at the Ferozshah Kotla Ground in New Delhi.

The South Zone were chasing the Central Zone set-target of 301. On the last day of the match, the South Zone needed 117 runs with nine wickets intact. However, South Zone lost 7 wickets for just 39 runs, giving an easy win to the Central Zone

 About Duleep Trophy

The Duleep Trophy is a domestic cricket competition which is played in India. The country is divided into five teams on the basis of geographical zones of India.

The Tournament was instituted in 1961-62 by BCCI. There are five teams: North Zone, South Zone, East Zone, West Zone and Central Zone. The game follows the format of a 5 team knockout tournament.


The Duleep Trophy is named after Duleepsinh, who was an cricketer playing for England.

He was educated at Rajkumar College in Rajkot and later in Cheltenham College, Gloucestershire, England. While at Cheltenham, Duleepsinh was a popular batsman. He later went on to successfully play for Cambridge University, Sussex and the England team. However, his cricketing career was cut short due to recurrent illnesses.

Duleepsinhji’s uncle is Ranjitsinhji, after whom the Ranji Trophy is named. He also played cricket for England.