Elections Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Manohar Lal Khattar to be new Chief Minister of Haryana

Former RSS veteran and first time legislator, Manohar Lal Khattar, is set to be sworn in as the new CM of Haryana at Tau Devi Lal stadium in Panchkula on October 26. His name was finalized by BJP’s 47 MLAs after a meeting of the legislative party.

60 year old Khattar is known for being extremely tech savvy and has worked closely with Narendra Modi before. Khattar is Haryana’s first non-Jat CM in 18 years, and only the fourth non-Jat leader in Haryana’s 48 year old history. He is also the first Punjabi CM of Haryana. This is also Khattar’s first time as a legislator. He won the Karnal seat by approximately 63,000 votes.

About Manohar Lal Khattar

Khattar was born in Rohtak, Haryana. He began his career with the RSS in 1980, where he spent almost 35 years as an active pracharak. He formally joined the BJP only two decades ago. In 1994, he was made the Sangathan Mahamantri in Haryana. Also, he was Chairman of BJP’s Haryana Election Committee for the recent Lok Sabha elections.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

Gopinath Munde’s daughter creates record of maximum victory margin in Lok Sabha elections

Late BJP leader Gopinath Munde’s second daughter, Pritam Munde,  won the Beed seat in Maharashtra by a record margin of nearly seven lakh votes. The bypoll was conducted in Beed to fill the seat left vacant by Gopinath Munde after his tragic and untimely demise.

 Pritam Munde’s record

Pritam polled 9,22,416 votes, defeating former Congress minister Ashok Patil by 6,96,321 votes. Shiv Sena and NCP chose not to field any candidate against Pritam. PM Modi had begun his Maharashtra poll campaign in Beed.

 Other records

Pritam broke Anil Basu’s record for a win with the highest electoral margin. Anil Basu of CPI-M won by 5,92,502 votes from Arambagh in West Bengal during the 2004 general elections. The third highest victory margin was recorded by late PM Narasimha Rao who won from Nandyal in Andhra Pradesh with a 5.8 lakh margin in 1991. The record for winning with the fourth largest margin is PM Modi, who won the Vadodara Lok Sabha seat in May this year by 5.7 lakh votes.

He is followed by Ram Vilas Paswan’s 1989 margin of 5,04,448 votes from Hajipur in Bihar.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App