Entertainment Current Affairs

Asha Bhosle selected for fifth Yash Chopra Memorial Award

Legendary playback singer Asha Bhosle (84) was chosen for fifth edition of Yash Chopra Memorial Award for her outstanding contribution to the Hindi film industry. She will be presented with award in February 2018 by Maharashtra Governor C Vidyasagar Rao. She was selected by jury members comprising Chopra’s wife Pamela Chopra, filmmakers Boney Kapoor, Madhur Bhandarkar, singer Alka Yagnik, actor Padmini Kohlapure, scriptwriter Honey Irani, Anu and Shashi Ranjan.

Asha Bhosle

Born as Asha Mangeshkar on 8 September 1933 in Sangli, Maharashtra.  She is best known as a playback singer in Hindi cinema. In her illustrious music career spanning nearly seven decades she has recorded over 11,000 songs in 20 different languages. Her work includes film music, pop, ghazals, bhajans, traditional Indian classical music, folk songs, qawwalis, and Rabindra Sangeets. She is sister of playback singer Lata Mangeshkar.

Yash Chopra Memorial Award

The award has been instituted by MP T Subbarami Reddy in the memory of renowned filmmaker Yash Chopra, who died in 2012, in association with Anu Ranjan and Shashi Ranjan. The award also carries a cash prize of Rs 10 lakh. The list of previous recipients of award include melody queen Lata Mangeshkar and actors Amitabh Bachchan, Rekha, and Shah Rukh Khan.


75th Annual Golden Globe Awards

The 75th Annual Golden Globe Awards honored the best in film and American television of 2017. The ceremony was organized at Beverly Hills, California, United States (US). The Golden Globe Awards are the annual awards that honour the best in Motion Pictures and American Television for the previous year.

This year The Shape of Water had received most overall nominations of show with seven, while Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri and Big Little Lies both won most awards with four each.

Winners of various awards are as follows:

Best Motion Picture Drama: Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.

Best Motion Picture Musical/Comedy: Lady Bird.

Best Director in Motion Picture-Drama: Guillermo del Toro (The Shape of Water).

Best Actor in Motion Picture-Drama: Gary Oldman (Darkest Hour) as Winston Churchill.

Best Actress in Motion Picture-Drama: Frances McDormand (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri) as Mildred Hayes.

Best Actor in Motion Picture or Musical or Comedy: James Franco (The Disaster Artist) as Tommy Wiseau.

Best Actress in Motion Picture Musical/Comedy: Saoirse Ronan (Lady Bird) as Christine “Lady Bird” McPherson.

Best Actor in a Supporting role in Motion Picture: Sam Rockwell (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri) as Officer Jason Dixon.

Best Actress in a Supporting role in Motion Picture: Allison Janney (I, Tonya) as LaVona Golden.

Best Original Score Motion Picture: Alexandre Desplat (The Shape of Water).

Best Original Song: “This Is Me” (Benj Pasek and Justin Paul) – The Greatest Showman

Best Animated Feature Film: Coco.

Best Foreign Language Film: In the Fade (Germany/France).

Cecil B. DeMille Lifetime Achievement Award: Oprah Winfrey.