Entertainment Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Vinod Khanna posthumously honoured with Dadasaheb Phalke Award 2017

Late veteran actor and politician Vinod Khanna was posthumously honoured with prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke Award 2017. He is the 49th recipient of the award, considered as the highest honour in Indian cinema given by Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.

Vinod Khanna

Born on 6 October 1946, Khanna has featured in as many as 146 films in his film career spanning over four decades. He made his debut in 1968 with Mann Ka Meet. He was known for his suave style and composed demeanour.

Some of his famous films are Mere Apne, Insaaf and Amar, Akbar, Anthony. He was last seen in 2015 in Shah Rukh Khan’s Dilwale. Khanna has also won numerous awards, including the Filmfare award for best supporting actor and the Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award in 1999. In 1982 Khanna decided to quit film industry at peak time of his career to follow his spiritual guru Osho Rajneesh.

Politics: Khanna forayed into politics in 1997. In 1998, he got elected to the Lok Sabha from the Gurdaspur constituency in Punjab on a BJP ticket. He served as Union minister for culture and tourism in 2002 under Atal Bihari Vajpayee government. Later, he also became minister of state in Ministry of External Affairs. At the time of his death in 2017, he was sitting BJP member of Lok Sabha from the Gurdaspur constituency (Punjab).

Dadasaheb Phalke Award

The award is conferred by Union Government for outstanding contribution to growth and development of Indian Cinema. It was established in 1969 to commemorate the birth centenary year of father of Indian cinema, Dadasaheb Phalke. It is highest official recognition (award) in Indian cinema. It is given on basis of recommendations of a committee of eminent personalities set up by the government. The award consists of a Swarn Kamal (Golden Lotus), a cash prize of Rs. 10 lakhs and a shawl.

Month: Categories: Awards & Honours


65th National Film Awards

The 65th National Film Awards for year 2017 were announced by Ministry of Information and Broadcasting on 13 April 2018. Assamese film Village Rockstars won the award in the Best Feature Film category. Baahubali 2: The Conclusion directed by S. S. Rajamouli was selected as the Best Popular film providing wholesome entertainment. Shekhar Kapur was the head of the Jury this edition of awards feature films.

Awards in various categories are as follows

Dada Saheb Phalke Award: Vinod Khanna

Best Feature Film: Village Rockstars (Assamese)

Best Director: Jayaraj for Bhayanakam (Malayalam)

Best Actress: Sridevi for ‘Mom’

Best Actor: Riddhi Sen for ‘Nagar Kirtan’

Best Director: Jayaraj for ‘Bhayanakam’ (Malayalam)

Best Action Direction: ‘Baahubali 2: The Conclusion’

Best Choreography: Ganesh Acharya for ‘Toilet Ek Prem Katha’

Best Special Effects: ‘Baahubali 2: The Conclusion’

Special Jury Award: Nagar Kirtan (Bengali)

Best Lyrics: Muthurathinam

Best Music Direction: AR Rahman for ‘Katru Veliyidayi’

Best Make-up Artist: Ram Rajak for ‘Nagar Kirtan’

Best Costume: Gobinda Mandal for ‘Nagar Kirtan’

Best Production Design: Santosh Rajan ‘Take Off’

Best Editing: Rima Das for ‘Village Rockstar’

Best Sound Design: ‘Walking With The Wind’

Best Audiography (Location Sound): Mallika Das, Village Rockstar

Best Location Sound Recording: Mallika Das for ‘Village Rockstar’

Best Screenplay Original: Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum

Best Screenplay Adapted: Bhayanakam

Best Cinematography: Bhayanakam

Best Female Playback Singer: Sashaa Tirupati for ‘Kaatru Veliyidayi’

Best Male Playback Singer: K.J Yesudas for song ‘Poy Maranja Kalam’ from ‘Viswasapoorvam Mansoor’

Best Child Artist: Anita Das for ‘Village Rockstar’

Best Children’s Film: ‘Mhorkya’

Best Film on Environmental Conservation: ‘Irada’

Best Direction: Jayaraj for ‘Bhayanakam’

Best Feature Film on National Integration: Dhappa (Marathi)

Best Debut Film of Director: ‘Sinjar’

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: ‘Baahubali 2: The Conclusion’

Best Regional Films Special Mention:

Marathi: Mhorkya

Malayalam: Take Off

Best Regional Films:

Hindi: Newton

Ladakh: Walking With The Wind

Lakshadweep: Sinjar

Tulu: Paddayi

Marathi: Kachcha Limboo

Malayalam: Thondimuthalum Driksakshiyum

Kannada: Hebbettu Ramakka

Bengali: Mayurakshi

Assamese: Ishu

Telugu: Ghazi

Gujarati: Dhh

Odiya: Hello Arsi

National Film Awards

The National Film Awards are most prominent film award ceremonies in India. It was established in 1954. Since then awarded annually. Winners in different categories of these awards are selected by national panel of Juries appointed by Union Government. These awards are presented by the President of India in the official ceremony.

Month: Categories: Awards & Honours