Entertainment Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

90th Academy Awards (Oscars 2018)

The 90th Academy Awards commonly referred to as Oscars was held at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, Los Angeles, California (US). The award presented in 24 categories by Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), honouring best films of year 2017.

The Shape of Water won the most number of awards totaling to four at the ceremony after it was nominated into highest 13 categories. It was followed by Dunkirk, nominated for eight categories and Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, nominated for seven categories.

Winners are

Best Picture: The Shape of Water.

Best Actress: Frances McDormand (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri as Mildred Hayes).

Best Actor: Gary Oldman (Darkest Hour as Winston Churchill)

Best Director: Guillermo del Toro (The Shape of Water).

Best Supporting Actress: Allison Janney – I (Tonya)

Best Supporting Actor: Sam Rockwell (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Best Original Screenplay: Get Out – Written by Jordan Peele.

Best Adapted Screenplay: Call Me by Your Name – James Ivory based on the novel by André Aciman.

Best Cinematography: Blade Runner 2049 – Roger A. Deakins

Best Original Score: The Shape of Water – Alexandre Desplat.

Best Original Song: “Remember Me” from Coco.

Best Sound Editing: Dunkirk – Richard King and Alex Gibson.

Best Foreign Language Film: A Fantastic Woman (Chile) in Spanish.

Best Film Editing: Dunkirk

Best Visual Effects: Blade Runner 2049.

Best Production Design: The Shape of Water.

Best Sound Mixing: Dunkirk

Best Documentary-Feature: Icarus.

Best Animated Feature Film: Coco.

Best Animated Short Film: Dear Basketball.

Best Documentary-Short Subject: Heaven Is a Traffic Jam on the 405

Best Live Action Short Film: The Silent Child.

Best Make-Up and Hairstyling: Darkest Hour

Best Costume Design: Phantom Thread

Academy Awards (Oscars)

Academy Awards, famously known as “Oscars” is a group of 24 artistic and technical honours that recognizes excellence in cinematic achievements in US film industry. It is given annually by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS). The award was first presented in 1929. The winners are awarded a copy of a statuette officially called the Academy Award of Merit (famously referred as Oscar Award).

Month: Categories: Awards & Honours


Asha Bhosle selected for fifth Yash Chopra Memorial Award

Legendary playback singer Asha Bhosle (84) was chosen for fifth edition of Yash Chopra Memorial Award for her outstanding contribution to the Hindi film industry. She will be presented with award in February 2018 by Maharashtra Governor C Vidyasagar Rao. She was selected by jury members comprising Chopra’s wife Pamela Chopra, filmmakers Boney Kapoor, Madhur Bhandarkar, singer Alka Yagnik, actor Padmini Kohlapure, scriptwriter Honey Irani, Anu and Shashi Ranjan.

Asha Bhosle

Born as Asha Mangeshkar on 8 September 1933 in Sangli, Maharashtra.  She is best known as a playback singer in Hindi cinema. In her illustrious music career spanning nearly seven decades she has recorded over 11,000 songs in 20 different languages. Her work includes film music, pop, ghazals, bhajans, traditional Indian classical music, folk songs, qawwalis, and Rabindra Sangeets. She is sister of playback singer Lata Mangeshkar.

Yash Chopra Memorial Award

The award has been instituted by MP T Subbarami Reddy in the memory of renowned filmmaker Yash Chopra, who died in 2012, in association with Anu Ranjan and Shashi Ranjan. The award also carries a cash prize of Rs 10 lakh. The list of previous recipients of award include melody queen Lata Mangeshkar and actors Amitabh Bachchan, Rekha, and Shah Rukh Khan.

Month: Categories: Awards & Honours