France Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

What is “Herd Immunity” Strategy adopted by the UK Government to contain Corona Virus?

The United Kingdom Government under the PM Boris Johnson has adopted “Herd Immunity” strategy to contain Corona Virus. With India declaring COVID-19 as “notified disaster”, Italy, Spain and France locking down completely, UK is adopting herd immunity strategy. The United Kingdom recently gained wide criticism for adopting the strategy.


UK has adopted the strategy hoping that 60% of its population will develop immunity against it. The country has neither cancelled mass gatherings nor locking down public places to contain the virus. Rather, it is focusing on building immunity against the disease. In simple worlds, UK is trying to run a normal routine while fighting the disease.

What is Herd Immunity?

Herd immunity is achieved through vaccinations and also gaining immunity. When a considerably bigger population is vaccinated, those that are not vaccinated also gain immunity. Even in epidemics, over the period of time, when the majority of population gain immunity against the disease, the level of its transmitting reduces. This is the strategy being adopted as “Herd Immunity” in United Kingdom.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

India joins Indian Ocean Commission as the fifth Observer

On March 6, 2020, India joined the Indian Ocean Commission as the fifth observer. The other four observers in the grouping are Malta, China, European Union and OIF (International Organization of La Francophonie).


It is important for India to join as an observer at the Commission because, it will help India in expanding its plans in Western Indian Ocean. The Western Indian Ocean strategically connects South Eastern Coast of Africa. However, this move is not connected with the Chinese presence in the Indian Ocean. This is purely to support India interests in the western flanks of the Indo-Pacific region.

The move will also support India in its SAGAR (Security and Growth for all in the Region) policy. In the last two years, India has made several high-level visits and signed significant defence agreements with the member countries of Indian Ocean Commission.

Indian Ocean Commission

The Indian Ocean Commission was created in 1982 at Port Louis, Mauritius. It comprises of 5 African Indian Ocean Nations namely Madagascar, Mauritius, Comoros, Reunion (France) and Seychelles.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App