G20 Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

CCPI Index, COP25: India among top 10 countries

On December 10, 2019, at the COP25, the Climate Change Performance Index was presented. The Index measures renewable energy share, emissions and climate policies of 57 countries and the European Union.

Highlights: India

India ranked 9th in the ranking provided. The ranking was to the “high category”, where the countries have ambitious 2030 targets. The report noted that India received medium rating in the renewable energy category. Also, the 2030 target set by India was rated high for its well-below 2-degree Celsius compatibility.

The report also says that India is yet to develop a road map to phase-out fossil fuel subsidies in order to reduce the dependence on fossil fuels.

Highlights: World

China, one of the largest polluters improved in its ranking and was placed in medium category. US and Saudi Arabia were the major polluters. They hardly showed signs of reducing their green house gas emissions. US ranked the last followed by Saudi Arabia and Australia.

According to the report, 31 of the 57 high emitting countries are responsible for 90% of emissions. Some of the EU countries like Sweden (ranked 4th), Denmark (ranked 5th) were the highest achievers in terms of performance.

Among the G20 countries, only India and UK were ranked in the high category.

Brown to Green Report, 2019: Performance of G20 countries on Climate Change

The Brown to Green Report is the most comprehensive review of climate actions of G20 nations. The report covers 80 indicators and is developed by experts from 14 research organizations.

Highlights of the report

  • G20 countries are responsible for 80% of global Green House Gas emissions.
  • Every year between 1998 and 2017, the G20 countries lost 142 billion USD on an average due to extreme weather events.
  • According to the report, India is the only country that is close to 1.5-degree Celsius temperature rise. It is the scenario set by the global scenario in the Paris Agreement that will lead to disastrous consequences. India has set ambitious NDCs and is investing more in long term goals.
  • Russia, France, Italy, Germany and India were the highest ranked countries that faced economic losses from extreme weather events. Around 181 countries were taken for the ranking
  • Brazil and Germany were the only two countries with long term goals.
  • The other countries like Russia, Indonesia, China, Saudi Arabia, EU and Turkey are lagging ambitious NDC targets as required by Paris Agreement
  • Australia was the worst performing country in terms of climate response according to the report.

G20 Groupings

There are around 20 members in the G20 grouping including India. The Grouping was established with the aim of discussing policies pertaining to promotion of international financial stability. Collectively, the grouping account to 90% of the world GDP with two-third world population and 80% of world trade.