General Elections Current Affairs - 2020

Ten Indian-origin MPs elected to UK Parliament

A record number of 10 Indian-origin Members of Parliament (MPs) were elected in recently concluded general election that elected 56th Parliament of the UK.

It has broken the previous 2010 general election record in which eight Indian-origin were elected.

Following are the elected Indian-origin candidates

Conservative Party:

  • Priti Patel- won from Witham constituency.
  • Rishi Sunak- won from Richmond (Yorks) constituency. He is son-in-law of Infosys co-founder Narayana Murthy.
  • Alok Sharma- won from Reading West constituency.
  • Shailesh Vara- won from Cambridgeshire Northwest constituency.
  • Suella Fernandes- won from Fareham constituency.

Labour Party:

  • Keith Vaz- won from Leicester East constituency.
  • Valerie Vaz- won from Walsall South constituency.
  • Virendra Sharma- won from Ealing Southall constituency.
  • Seema Malhotra- won from south west London constituency.
  • Lisa Nandy- won from Wigan constituency.

Mhairi Black, youngest elected MP in United Kingdom

Mhairi Black at the age of 20 became the youngest elected Member of Parliament (MP) in United Kingdom in over 300 years.

She was elected as MP to House of Commons i.e. lower house of UK Parliament from Paisley and Renfrewshire South constituency in Glasgow, Scotland.

Mhairi Black represents Scottish Nationalist Party (SNP). In this general election she defeated Labour Party’s election chief and a former Cabinet minister Douglas Alexander by over 6000 votes by gaining total 17864 votes.

Mhairi Black is student at the University of Glasgow and currently in her final year of a Politics and Public Policy degree.

It should be noted that, in 1667 Christopher Monck, Earl of Torrington at the age 13 was the youngest the MP in United Kingdom.