Gernmany Current Affairs - 2020

Germany to host first edition of Global Wind Summit

The first edition of Global Wind Summit will be held in Hamburg, Germany from September 25 to 28, 2018. It will be largest and most important meeting of the wind industry worldwide. The summit will see participation of of speakers from about 100 countries, including India, China, the US, Spain and Denmark.

Key Facts

The summit combines will have two main conferences, WindEnergy Hamburg and WindEurope, Holinsky. Both events together will witness participation of about 1,400 exhibitors and 250 speakers from all over the world. The summit will provide platform for experts from across globe to discuss innovative and green technologies for harnessing wind energy making.

The focus of the conferences will be on three major subjects viz. dynamic markets, cost efficiency and smart energy. It will discuss ways to develop new markets, make product competitive in auctions and use wind power for all energy applications.

Note: India with 33GW (installed capacity) is fourth largest country after China, US and Germany in terms of wind energy installation capacity. Government has set  ambitious target of achieving 60 GW of wind energy by 2022.

Germany wins 2017 Confederation Cup Football title

Four-time FIFA World Cup winner Germany won maiden FIFA Confederation Cup Football title by defeating Copa America Champion Chile by 1-0 goals in the final match held at St Petersburg, Russia.

Lars Stindl of Germany score the goal in the first half against the run of play. Chile was not able to score goal.  Earlier, in the third-place play-off match, Portugal defeated Mexico by 2-1.

About FIFA Confederations Cup

The FIFA Confederations Cup is an international association football tournament for national teams. It is currently held every four years by FIFA. It is contested by the holders of each of the six regional championships (UEFA, CONCACAF, CONMEBOL, CAF, AFC, OFC), along with the current FIFA World Cup holder and the host nation, bringing the number of teams up to eight.

It was established in 1992. Since 2005, the tournament has been held in the nation hosts the next World Cup, acting as a test event for the larger tournament. Brazil has won the title for record 4 times (1997, 2005, 2009, 2013), followed by France (2001, 2003)