Gopalkrishna Gandhi Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Gopalkrishna Gandhi conferred with 2018 Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award

Former West Bengal Governor Gopalkrishna Gandhi was conferred with 2018 Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award. He was presented award in New Delhi on occasion of 74th birth anniversary of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi.

Gopalkrishna Gandhi

Born on 22 April 1945. He is grandson of Father of Nation Mahatma Gandhi. He is retired IAS officer (Tamil Nadu cadre) and also had served as diplomat. He was 22nd Governor of West Bengal serving from 2004 to 2009. As former IAS officer, he had served as Secretary to President of India (1987-1992). He had served as India’s High Commissioner to South Africa and Sri Lanka and also held other important administrative and diplomatic posts. He was United Progressive Alliance (UPA) nominee for 2017 Vice President of India election and lost with 244 votes against NDA candidate Venkaiah Naidu, who recieved 516 votes.

Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award

It is awarded every year on persons for outstanding contribution towards promotion of communal harmony, national integration and peace. It was instituted in 1992 by All India Congress Committee of Indian National Congress Party (INC) to commemorate the lasting contribution made by former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi. The award carries citation and cash award of Rs. ten lakhs. It is given on 20 August (birth anniversary of Rajiv Gandhi observed as), which is celebrated as Sadbhavna Diwas (Harmony Day). Former recipients of award include Mother Teresa, Ustad Bismillah Khan, Lata Mangeshkar, Mohammed Yunus, Sunil Dutt, Kapila Vatsyayan, Dilip Kumar, Teesta Setalvad, Swami Agnivesh, K.R. Narayanan, Ustad Amjad Ali Khan, Muzaffar Ali and Shubha Mudgal. In 2017, it was awarded to Former Cricketer Mohammad Azharuddin and Retired IAS Officer M.Gopala Krishna.

Month: Categories: Awards


Venkaiah Naidu elected 13th Vice President of India

Former union minister Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu (68) was elected as 13th Vice President of India. He will succeed Hamid Ansari, who held the position for two consecutive terms of 5 years.

With this victory, BJP has occupied top three constitutional posts of India- President, Vice-President and Prime Minister.


Over 98% voting was recorded in the 2017 vice-presidential election. 98.21% polling was registered for the election with 771 out of 785 MPs casting their vote, 11 votes were found to be invalid. 381 votes was the quota set to win the polls. M. Venkaiah Naidu emerged victorious by winning 516 votes, whereas opposition nominee Gopalkrishna Gandhi has secured 244 votes.

About M. Venkaiah Naidu

Venkaiah Naidu was born on July 1, 1949 in Nellore district of Andhra Pradesh in farmer’s family. He holds a law degree with a specialisation in international law from the Andhra University College of Law in Vishakhapatnam.

 He had first entered in the mainstream politics with 1972 ‘Jai Andhra Movement’  and later joined BJP in 1980. He won the assembly election twice in 1978 and 1983 from Udayagiri constituency and became the Rajya Sabha MP thrice in 1998, 2004 and 2010. He was elected as the national President of BJP in 2002.

He served as a cabinet minister both NDA governments under the Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1999-2004) and Narendra Modi (2014-present). He was Cabinet Minister of Information and Broadcasting, Minister of Urban Development and also as a Parliamentary Affairs Minister under Modi government.

Vice-President Elections

The Vice-President is selected through a secret ballot by the members of the electoral college consisting of the members of both Houses of Parliament (Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha) in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote. The nominated Members of Rajya Sabha as well as of Lok Sabha are also eligible to be included in the Eeectoral college and, therefore, are entitled to participate in the election.

Month: Categories: National