Governance Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Home Minister launches ERSS, E-Beat Book System and E-Saathi App

Union Minister for Home Affairs Amit Shah launched three citizen centric services of Chandigarh Police, in Chandigarh. The services launched include- Emergency Response Support System (ERSS – Dial 112), ‘E-Beat Book’ System and ‘E-Saathi App’. Home Minister observed that the beat officer system has been cornerstone of Indian Policing system for ages and by such Citizen Centric Services in Policing, a SMART Police force can be built in India. He congratulated Chandigarh Police to have taken a lead in introducing such Citizen Centric Services in Policing.

These valuable public services would effectively reduce response time of police to address distress calls of public as well as strengthen police-public interface endeavour of community policing.

About Emergency Response Support System (ERSS – Dial 112)

ERSS is one of the key projects of Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) under Nirbhaya Fund. It has been designed to play a pivotal role in mitigation/preventing escalation of crime, predominantly against women and children.

ERSS service provides-

  • Single emergency number ‘112’: Citizens can send their emergency information via call, SMS, email as well as through 112 India mobile app.
  • Computer aided dispatch of field resources to location of distress.

‘Dial 112’ emergency response service is an initiative to strengthen proactive community policing that would end confusion amongst distress callers, who at times end up dialing 100 (for police related services) in case of fire/medical emergency cases, therefore, after starting this service, public will not face these problems.

In future, Emergency Number for Road Accidents (1073),Women Helpline (1091, 181), Child Help Line (1098), including other Helpline services would be added under 112 unified emergency response number.

About ‘E-Beat Book’ System

It is a web and mobile based application which will ease collection, updation and analysis of information related to crime and criminals in real time basis. E-Beat Book would be linked with Crime and Criminal Tracking Network & Systems (CCTNS), which would help in a real time updation of crime/criminal data.

At present, Chandigarh has been divided in 54 divisions and in each division, there is one ‘Atal Sehbhagita Kendra’ that is under supervision of a Beat Officer, having an Android Phone to use app. The citizen can directly approach ‘Atal Sehbhagita Kendra’ for redressal of their grievances and can render their suggestions too.

About ‘E-Saathi’ App

It would help general public, including senior citizens, to remain in touch with police and also give suggestions to facilitate participative community policing: Your Police at Your Doorstepinitiative.

The beat officer would be able to provide services such as servant verification, character certification, passport verification, tenant verification etc. at a click of a button through app, without the people needing to visit police station.

With this initiative, on one hand, where beat officer would become more efficient in their work, this would make police-people communication a two-way process, on the other.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

24th Meeting of Western Zonal Council held in Panaji

The 24th Meeting of Western Zonal Council held was held in Panaji, capital of Goa. It was chaired by Union Home Minister Amit Shah. Goa being host state, Chief Minister Pramod Sawant was its vice-chairman. It was attended by Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani and representatives of Union Territories of Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli.

About Zonal Councils

They are statutory bodies set up under States Reorganization Act, 1956 (thus, they are not constitutional bodies unlike Interstate Council) to foster Inter-State co-operation and co-ordination among the States.

These councils are mandated to discuss and give recommendations on any matter of common interest in field of socio-economic planning, border disputes, linguistic minorities or inter-State transport etc.

They provide common meeting ground for States to promote and facilitate coordinated efforts for fostering economic and social development. They serve regional fora of cooperative endeavour for States linked with each other geographically, economically and culturally.

There are total five councils were created as per States Reorganization Act 1956.

  1. Northern Zonal Council: Haryana, Punjab, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, National Capital Territory of Delhi (UT) and Chandigarh (UT).
  2. Central Zonal Council: Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh.
  3. Eastern Zonal Council: Odisha, West Bengal, Bihar and Jharkhand.
  4. Western Zonal Council: Goa, Gujarat, Maharashtra and UTs of Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli
  5. Southern Zonal Council: Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Telnagana, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry (UT).

Composition: All zonal councils are chaired Union Home Minister. Chief Ministers of States as Vice-Chairman of respective zone on rotational basis, each holding office for period of one year at time.

North Eastern Council

North Eastern States Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Tripura, Mizoram,) Meghalaya, Nagaland and Sikkim are not included in above five Zonal Councils. Their special problems are looked after by North Eastern Council, set up under North Eastern Council Act, 1972. I

Composition: It is also chaired by Union Home Minister. Minister of Development of North East Region (DoNER) is its Vice Chairman. Governors and Chief Ministers of all these eight North Eastern States are its members.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App