Government of Uttarakhand Current Affairs - 2020

Gairsain declared Summer Capital of Uttarakhand

On June 8, 2020, the Uttarakhand Governor Baby Rani Maurya assented to declare Gairsain as new summer capital. The Gairsain is also called Bhararisen.


Gairsain is to have an e-vidhan Sabha. This was announced on World Environment Day. The Legislative Assembly of the state is located at Dehradun, the winter capital city. The activists in Uttarakhand wanted Gairsain to be the capital of Uttarakhand state after it was carved out of Uttar Pradesh in 1998.

The activists suggested Gairsain as the capital as it was falling on the border of Kumaon and Garhwal regions. The town is located in the Chamoli district and is 250 km from Dehradun. It comes under the administrative limits of Garhwal division. The boundary of Kumaon starts at a distance of 15 km from Gairsain.


The State of Uttarakhand was formed as the 27th state of India. The state was formed through the Uttar Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2000. The famous tourist attraction in the state includes Nanda Devi and Valley of Flowers National Park. It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The state also sources Ramganga river. The river begins its journey at the Dudhatoli Parvat.

Ex-Service Men rise to “Service Before Self” to fight COVID-19

The Indian Army serves under the motto “Service Before Self”. Continuing to live with the motto even after retirement, the department of Ex-service men operating under Ministry of Defence took the initiative to mobilize ex-servicemen to assist state and district administration.


The Zila Sainik Boards and Rajya Sainik Boards are currently identifying Ex-Service men volunteers. They are to be deployed in management of quarantine facilities, community surveillance and data collection at village and district levels.


With the number of COVID-19 cases raising in India, there is high demand for work forces to help contain the disease. In this scenario, trained disciplined profession army men are precious resource of the country to exploit in.

Currenly, the state of Punjab has deployed 4,200 Ex-Service men volunteers in assisting data collection form villages. The Chhattisgarh government has deployed them to assist the state police force. In Uttarakhand they are deployed in district control rooms.