Governors Current Affairs

C Vidyasagar Rao sworn in as acting Governor of Tamil Nadu

Governor of Maharashtra Chennamaneni Vidyasagar Rao, was sworn in as the acting Governor of Tamil Nadu.

He was administered oath of office by the Madras High Court’s Chief Justice Sanjay Kishan Kaul as per provisions of Article 159 of Constitution at the Raj Bhavan, Chennai.

President Pranab Mukherjee had given additional charge of Tamil Nadu to C Vidyasagar Rao as per Article 153 of Constitution as the tenure of K. Rosaiah ended on 31 August 2016.

About C Vidyasagar Rao

  • Chennamaneni Vidyasagar Rao is incumbent Governor of Maharashtra. He had entered into the office in August 2014.
  • Previously, he served as the Union Minister of State (MoS) for Home affairs and Commerce and Industry from 1999 to 2004 in then AB Vajpayee-led BJP Government.
  • He was elected to 12th and 13th Lok Sabha as a Bharatiya Janata Party candidate from Karimnagar in Telangana.


Dr. Najma Heptulla sworn-in as 18th Governor of Manipur

Dr. Najma Heptulla was sworn-in as the 18th Governor of Manipur. She replaced Shanmuganathan who was holding the dual charge of Governor of Meghalaya and Manipur.

She was administered oath of office by Acting Chief Justice of Manipur High Court Rakesh Ranjan Prasad as per the provisions of Article 159 of Constitution of India.

About Dr. Najma Akbarali Heptulla

  • Born on 13 April 1940 in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh. She is five time member of the Rajya Sabha between 1986 and 2012.
  • She had served as and Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha for sixteen years in two different terms from 1985 to 1986 and 1988 to 2004.
  • She is former vice-president of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). In 2007, she had unsuccessfully had contested the 13th vice-presidential election against Hamid Ansari.
  • In NDA Government led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi she had served as Union Minister of Minority Affairs from May 2014 to July 2016. She had resigned on age grounds.