Gram panchayats Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Internet Connections to 2 lakh Gram Panchayat by 2020

Government of India has set a target of providing broad band connectivity to two lakh Gram Panchayats by March 2020. So far (till 7th November, 2019) over 1,28,000 Gram Panchayats have already been connected. The project is being implemented under the BharatNet Project.


According to the Ministry of Electronic and Information Technology, Wi-Fi hotspots have been installed in 45,000 Gram Panchayats. Service is being provided to 16,000 Panchayats. The updates were presented by the Electronics and Information Minister Shri Ravi Shankar in the Lok Sabha.

Bharat Net Project

The Bharat Net Project was launched in 2017. The main aim of the project is to provide affordable broadband connectivity at a speed of 2 Mbps to 20 Mbps for all . The first phase of the project was completed in December 2017 that provided broad band connectivity to 1 lakh Gram Panchayats. In its second phase the project intended to connect the remaining 2,50,000 Gram Panchayats by March 2019.

OFC in the Project

The project uses underground Optic Fibre Cables (OFC) lines. It is a new element in the history of connectivity of India. OFC has several advantages like low cost, easy maintenance, speed implementation, etc.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

Atal Community Innovation Centre launched in New Delhi

Union Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas Dharmendra Pradhan launched Atal Community Innovation Centre in New Delhi. It aims to encourage spirit of innovation at community level.

About Atal Community Innovation Centre


To encourage spirit of innovation through solution-driven design thinking to serve society.

To make innovation ecosystem socially inclusive and to ensure equitable distribution of infrastructure for innovation across India.

Need: In order to achieve target of 5 trillion dollar economy by 2025, Atal Innovation Mission has a key role to perform.


The Atal Community Innovation Centre initiative has been launched under Atal Innovation Mission (AIM), a flagship initiative of NITI Aayog. NITI Aayog is tasked upon to open innovation Centres in all Gram Panchayats of country to promote local innovation.

It has been launched to focus on 484 backward districts where innovation infrastructure is very weak. This will also help improve innovation environment in country.

It has been specifically designed for underserved, unserved regions of Tier 1 cities, Tier 2 cities and Tier 3 cities, North-East, Jammu and Kashmir, Smart Cities, Aspirational districts as well as rural and tribal regions of India.

About Atal Innovation Mission

AIM is an Innovation Promotion Platform in NITI Aayog. It has replaced National Innovation Council (NIC), a significant difference between two will be powers to disburse funds.

It involves academics, entrepreneurs and researchers and draw upon national/international experiences to foster culture of innovation, scientific research and Research & Development (R&D) in India.

It will promote a network of world-class innovation hubs and grand challenges for India as well as provide inputs to all central ministries on innovation and suggest a funding mechanism for result-oriented research.

Significance: It has brought radical transformation in Indian education system thereby government is promoting innovation in all rural, backward and aspirational districts to make India one of prominent innovative nations.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App