Grand Slam Tennis Tournament. Current Affairs - 2020

COVID-19: Wimbledon cancelled for the First Time since World Wars

On April 1, 2020, Wimbledon was cancelled due to the threats of Corona Virus. This is the first time the tournament is being cancelled since the World War II.


Wimbledon was scheduled between June 29, 2020 and July 12, 2020 in the outskirts of London. However, it was cancelled considering lock down situation and also due to the threats posed by COVID-19. The next edition of the tournament is to be held between June 28, 2021 and July 11, 2021.


Wimbledon Tennis Tournament was first held in 1877. Since then it has been contested every year. However, it was cancelled during two stretches. Once during the first world war between 1915 and 1918 and it was cancelled another time during the second world war between 1940 and 1945.


The Wimbledon is also known as The Championships. It is the oldest Tennis Tournament in the world. It is one of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments. The other three include French Open, US open and Australian Open.

Wimbledon is the only tournament that is still played on grass. Playing on grass is considered as traditional and is also a classic tennis court.

Australian Open: Novak Djokovic won the title for the eighth time

The Serbian Player Novak Djokovic captured the Australian Open Title of 2020 in Men’s single. Sofia Kenin won Women’s singles at the tournament. Rajeev Ram teamed up with Joe Salisbury won the Men’s doubles.

Australia Open

The Australia Open 2020 was held at Melbourne. It is the first of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments held every year. The other 3 Grand Slams include Wimbledon, French Open and US open. So far Australian Open has been conducted in 5 cities namely Melbourne, Adelaide, Sydney, Perth and Sydney. In 1906, it was conducted at the New Zealand city Christchurch and in 1912 at Hastings.

The Australian Open was first held in 1905. The nick name of Grand Slam is “Happy Slam”.

Grand Slam

The Grand Slam title offers most ranking points. The Australian Open is held in January, French Open in May-June, Wimbledon in June-July and US Open in August-September. The Grand Slam tournaments are operated by the International Tennis Federation.

International Tennis Federation

It was founded in 1913. It maintains rules of tennis and regulates international tournaments. It also preserved sports integrity conducting anti-doping and anti-corruption programmes.