Group of Ministers Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

GoM to address GST issues related of the Real Estate Sector

The Union government has set up a seven-member Group of Ministers (GoM) to examine and suggest ways to resolve the issues plaguing the real estate sector after the implementation of the Goods and Services Tax (GST).

Terms of Reference

The Terms of reference of the panel are:

  • Suggest a plan of action to address the problems facing both developers and buyers.
  • Examine the various aspects of levying GST on the transfer of development rights and development rights in a joint development agreement and suitable model.
  • Look at the legality of inclusion or exclusion of land or any other ingredient in the scheme and suggest a valuation mechanism.
  • Examine GST levy on Transfer of Development Rights and development rights in a joint development agreement and suitable model.

The GoM headed Gujarat deputy chief minister Nitin Patel has finance ministers of Kerala, Punjab, Karnataka, Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh and Goa’s Minister of Panchayat as members.

Month: Categories: NationalUPSC


Government forms GoM and Committee to frame law against lynching

Union Government has created Group of Ministers (GoM) and high-level committee to deliberate and make recommendations for a separate penal provision on incidents of mob violence. The GoM will be headed by Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, whereas committee will be headed by Uion Home Secretary Rajiv Gauba.

Gauba committee

It will include secretaries of departments of Justice, Legal Affairs, Legislative Department and Social Justice and Empowerment as its members. It will suggest measures and legal framework to effectively deal with incidents of mob violence and lynching. It will submit its recommendations to the GoM in four weeks.

Group of Ministers (GoM)

GoM includes Road Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari, Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj and Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thaawar Chand Gehlot. It will examine recommendations given by Gauba committee and submit its report to Prime Minister Narendra Modi.


The move came after recent Supreme Court direction to central government on the issue of mob violence and lynching. The apex court had denounced sweeping incidents of lynching as an affront to the rule of law and called for law to deal with such horrendous acts of mobocracy. It had passed a series of “preventive, remedial and punitive” measures to deal with lynchings and mob vigilantism. It had made Centre and state governments accountable for mob violence and lynching and had asked them to take steps to curb and stop dissemination of irresponsible and explosive fake messages and videos on social media platforms which incite such incidents.

Month: Categories: National