Hockey India Current Affairs - 2020

Khel Ratna Award: India Women’s Team Captain Rani Rampal recommended

On June 2, 2020, the Hockey India recommended India Women Team Captain Rani Rampal for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards. Monika, Vandana Kataria and Harmanpreet Singh were recommended for Arjuna Awards.


Besides the Captain, India Stalwarts Tushar Khandker and RP Singh have been recommended for Major Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement. The coaches Romesh Pathania and BJ Kariappa have been nominated for Dronacharya Award.

Rani Rampal

The period of consideration of the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is between January 2016 and December 2019. During this period, Rani Rampal led the team to win Women’s Asia Cup in 2017. Under her leadership the team won silver cup in 2018 Asian Games and also she played a significant role for the team to enter FIH Olympic qualifiers in 2019. Her deciding goal helped India qualify for Tokyo Olympics.

She has also received the Arjuna award in 2016 and Padmashri in 2020. She is the first Indian to be named as the World Games Athlete of the Year.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards

A panel from the Sports Ministry will shortlist the nominations received from several other federations. The awards are to be presented on National Sports Day, August 29.

International Hockey Federation names Indian Hockey Captain “Player of the Year”, 2019

On February 13, 2020, the International Hockey Federation named the Indian Hockey captain Manpreet Singh as Player of the Year, 2019.


Manpreet is the first Indian to win the title. The accolade was introduced in 1999.

Manpreet Singh

Manpreet Singh is the Indian National Hockey team captain since 2017. He was named the Indian Squad at the 2016 Summer Olympics. He has played several international games including Asian Games, Common Wealth Games, Men’s Hockey Champions Trophy.

He is known for his best sportsmanship and patriotism at 2016 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup. Minutes before a match with Australia, Manpreet received the news of his father’s death. He still played the match and India won 1-2.

International Hockey Federation

The International Hockey Federation is the governing body of indoor field hockey and field hockey. The headquarters is located in Lausanne, Switzerland. The Player of the year award is given by the organization to men and women since 1998. The young category of the honourary award was added in 2001.