Hockey Current Affairs - 2020

India wins 2017 Asia Cup hockey title

India won 2017 Asia Cup hockey title by defeating Malaysia in the final match held in Dhaka, Bangladesh by 2-1 score. It was India’s overall third Asia Cup title and earlier it had won it in 2003 and 2007.

For India goals were scored by Ramandeep Singh (3rd minute) and Lalit Upadhyay (29th). For Malaysia single goal was scored by Shahril Saabah (50th minute). Pakistan won bronze medal by defeating South Korea by 6-3 score in third-fourth place play-off match.

In this edition of tournament, top-ranked India finished unbeaten as it won all matches except for the 1-1 draw against South Korea in the Super 4s stage. For Malaysia, it was their best result in the tournament. They had earlier won bronze medal in 2007 edition of the event in Chennai.

Asia Cup hockey title

The ASHF Asia Cup is an international men’s and women’s field hockey tournament governed by Asian Hockey Federation (ASHF). It was introduced in 1982 for men’s competition and later women’s competition in 1985. So far, South Korea has been most successful team with 4 titles in Men’s (1994, 1999, 2009, 2013) and 3 titles in Women’s competition. India has reached most number of finals in Men’s (8 times) and South Korea, Japan(tied) in Women’s (5 times) competitions.

Indian Women’s hockey team wins 2016 Asian Champions Trophy

Indian Women’s hockey team has won the 2016 Asian Champions Trophy held in Singapore. It was the maiden win of Indian Women’s hockey team in Asian Champions Trophy.

In summit clash held in Singapore, India defeated China by 2-1 goals. The first goal for India was scored by Deep Grace Ekka in the 13th minute which was equalised by China’s Zhong Mengling in the 44th minute. The second and winning goal was scored by Deepika Thakur that gave the India formidable lead to win the tournatment.

About Asian Hockey Champions Trophy

The Asian Hockey Champions Trophy is held annually by the Asian Hockey Federation since 2011. The tournament features the Asian Games top six field hockey teams competing in a round robin format. In women’s category, South Korea has won most titles for two times in 2010 and 2011.