Indian Premier League Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

‘Cricket World Cup: The Indian Challenge’ book by Ashis Ray released

Celebrated cricket broadcaster Ashis Ray released a new book titled ‘Cricket World Cup: The Indian Challenge’. It the new book he has Ray penned down the journey of Indian cricket at the World Cups since the inaugural edition of WCs in 1975.

About ‘Cricket World Cup: The Indian Challenge’ Book

  • It is published by Bloomsbury.
  • It describes the readers about the beautiful journey witnessed by India ever since1975 when the West Indies won 60-over World Cup held in England.
  • It reviews all World Cup tournaments from year 1975 to 2015 as well as previews ongoing 2019 World Cup in England and Wales.
  • The book records all matches played by India, since the World Cup inaugural (44 years ago) and also every semi-final and final regardless of whether India featured in them or not.
  • It provides details about the story of India’s turning point in One Day Cricket (ODI) held in Guyana when in March 1983 Indian team under Kapil Dev defeated previously unassailable West Indies in their own backyard.
  • In total nine chapters of book Ray has talked about all facets of Indian cricket with details of India’s performance in each and every World Cup and also about the controversies such as Greg Chappell’s controversial tenure as India coach or Indian Premier League (IPL) corruption scandal.

About Ashis Ray

  • He is the world’s senior-most active cricket broadcaster.
  • At the age of 24 in 1975, Ray made his debut as a Test match commentator on All India Radio (AIR).
  • He holds the merit of being World’s youngest Test match commentator.
  • During the BBC’s coverage of 1983 edition of World Cup match(in which India defeated cricket giants West Indies), he was the only Asian ball-by-ball commentator.

Month: Categories: Sports & Games


Mumbai Indians win Indian Premier League title 2019

Mumbai Indians won Indian Premier League title by defeating Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in final at Hyderabad by 1 run.


Mumbai Indians defeated Chennai Super Kings by only one run and won IPL 2019 title. This was Mumbai Indians 4th Indian Premier League (IPL) trophy and became first team to do so.

IPL Awards 2019

  • David Warner of Sunrisers Hyderabad won Orange Cap for most runs. He scored 692 runs.
  • Imran Tahir of Chennai Super Kings (CSK) won Purple Cap for taking most wickets. He was the highest wicket-taker in tournament with 26 wickets. Tahir also became the oldest player to feature in an IPL final and is only 2nd spinner after Pragyan Ojha to win Purple Cap.
  • Andre Russell of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) was named Most Valuable Player. He scored 510 runs, took 11 wickets and hit the most sixes in 2019 season. He also won the title of Super Striker of the Season for a strike rate of 204.81
  • Shubman Gill of KKR was named Emerging Player of the IPL Tournament.
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad bagged the Fairplay award of IPL 2019.
  • Hardik Pandya of Mumbai Indians (MI) won Fastest Fifty of Season.
  • Kieron Pollard of MI won Perfect Catch of the Season.
  • Rahul Chahar of MI was named Game Changer of the Season.
  • KL Rahul of Kings XI Punjab was named Stylish Player of the Season.
  • All the award winners were handed over a cheque of Rs 10 lakh each.

About Indian Premier League (IPL)

  • It was founded by Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2008.
  • It is a professional Twenty20 (i.e. T20 format) cricket league which is played every year in India during month of March or April and May. In total it has 48 match days and about 60 matches.
  • It is contested by eight teams representing eight different cities in India. The participant players are from other countries as well.
  • This 2019 season was 12th edition of the IPL.

Month: Categories: Sports & Games