Indira Gandhi Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Haryana CM announces Annual Health Assistance to Loktantra Senanis

Manohar Lal Khattar, Chief Minister of Haryana has announced an annual financial health assistance of Rs.5 lakh to loktantra senanis or their spouse for treatment at private or government hospitals.

Key Highlights

Loktantra Senanis: are people who were jailed during 1975-1977 Emergency under preventive detention laws.

As per the new changes proposed by Haryana government, the term Emergency Victim on their identity cards would be replaced with Loktantra Senani.

Current Perks: Loktantra Senanis, who went to jail during the Satyagraha Movement in emergency, are already provided a monthly pension of Rs 10,000 by the state government and also free travel in the Haryana Roadways buses.

About Indian Emergency of 1975-1977

Indian Emergency that started from 25th June 1975 continued for a 21 month period up to 21st March 1977.

Then President Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed, upon advice by Prime Minister Indira Gandhi, declared a state of national emergency under Article 352 of Indian Constitution. Once emergency was proclaimed it effectively bestowed on Prime Minister the power to rule by decree, suspending elections and civil liberties.

This was a dramatic turn in Indian political affairs as democracy was brought to a grinding halt and all fundamental rights and legal remedies protected by Indian Constitution were suspended.

Actions Taken: During Emergency period, most of the political opponents of Indira Gandhi were imprisoned, press censorship was placed and several other human rights violations were also reported such as forced mass-sterilization campaign.

PM Gandhi tried to defend her emergency move on grounds of an attempt to protect state and Indian people but the emergency rule still faced immense criticism and is undoubtedly one of most controversial periods of political history of Independent India.

Month: Categories: Government Schemes & ProjectsStates


UNHCR chosen for 2015 Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development

The United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) has been chosen for the prestigious 2015 Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development.

The prestigious award has been bestowed on office of UNHCR in recognition of its

  • Immense contributions in assisting millions of refugees in their rehabilitation and resettlement.
  • For working under difficult circumstances to bring about changes in order to reduce the flow of refugees.

UN Refugee Agency was chosen for this edition of award by the international jury of the prize, headed by Vice President Hamid Ansari. It was declared on the occasion of 98th birth anniversary of India’s Iron Lady Indira Gandhi who was first women Prime Minister of India (in office from 1966–1977 and 1980–1984).

About United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

  • UNHCR is a United Nations agency mandated to protect and support refugees. It is a member of the United Nations Development Group.
  • Established: December 14, 1950.
  • Headquarters: Geneva, Switzerland.
  • Initially it was established to help people displaced by World War II. But later it became the principal agency that has helped displaced persons all over world.
  • Mission: Safeguard the rights and well-being of refugees. Seek lasting solutions to the plights of refugees.
  • Awards: It has won two Nobel Peace Prizes, first in 1954 and second in 1981.

About Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development

  • Since 1986, the prestigious award accorded annually by Indira Gandhi Trust.
  • Awarded to: Individuals or organizations in recognition of their creative efforts towards promoting international peace, development.
  • It is also bestowed upon them for creating new international economic order and ensuring that scientific discoveries are used for the larger good of humanity and enlarging the scope of freedom.
  • Award carries: The prize consists of monetary award of 25 lakh and a citation.
  • Some of the awardees: UNICEF (1989), Rajiv Gandhi (1991), M S Swaminathan (1999), Kofi Annan (2003), Angel Merkel (2013) and Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) (2014) .

Month: Categories: Awards & Honours