Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

TM Krishna wins 2015-16 Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration

Carnatic vocalist T M Krishna won 30th Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration for 2015 -16 for his services in promoting and preserving national integration in the country.

He will be presented with the honour by Congress president Sonia Gandhi on October 31, 2017 Indira Gandhi’s death anniversary.

TM Krishna

He is one of prominent vocalists in rigorous Carnatic tradition of Indian classical music and also activist who has worked on creating egalitarian spaces for music and breaking down caste-barriers in form. He was also part of movement to help Tamil-dominated and war-ravaged northern province of Sri Lanka rebuild its classical music traditions. He has written and talked on wide range of socio-political issues, including women’s rights, children’s needs, issues that make a society civil or un-civil, and dangers of mentality of war and narrow nationalism. In 2016, he won Ramon Magsaysay award for bringing “social inclusiveness in culture.

Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration

The award was instituted in 1985 by Congress on its centenary year celebrations. It is conferred every year on October 31 for promoting national integration, understanding and fellowship among different communities and cultures of India. The award consists of a citation and a cash prize of Rs. 10 lakh.

Some of the recipients are.S. Subbulakshmi, former prime minister Rajiv Gandhi (posthumously) and former presidents A.P.J. Abdul Kalam and Shankar Dayal Sharma (posthumously), musician A.R. Rahman, Ramakrishna Mission Ashram, poet Gulzar, scientist M.S. Swaminathan, filmmaker Shyam Benegal and lyricist Javed Akhtar.

Month: Categories: Awards & Honours


Gulzar honored with Indira Gandhi National Integration award

Famous lyricist, poet and film director, Gulzar imagehas been conferred with the Indira Gandhi National Integration Award. The award was given to mark the 28th death anniversary of the late Prime Minister Indira Gandhi.

Month: Categories: Awards & HonoursPersons in News