International Hockey Federation Current Affairs - 2020

International Hockey Federation names Indian Hockey Captain “Player of the Year”, 2019

On February 13, 2020, the International Hockey Federation named the Indian Hockey captain Manpreet Singh as Player of the Year, 2019.


Manpreet is the first Indian to win the title. The accolade was introduced in 1999.

Manpreet Singh

Manpreet Singh is the Indian National Hockey team captain since 2017. He was named the Indian Squad at the 2016 Summer Olympics. He has played several international games including Asian Games, Common Wealth Games, Men’s Hockey Champions Trophy.

He is known for his best sportsmanship and patriotism at 2016 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup. Minutes before a match with Australia, Manpreet received the news of his father’s death. He still played the match and India won 1-2.

International Hockey Federation

The International Hockey Federation is the governing body of indoor field hockey and field hockey. The headquarters is located in Lausanne, Switzerland. The Player of the year award is given by the organization to men and women since 1998. The young category of the honourary award was added in 2001.

2020 Hockey Pro League: Bhubaneswar to host India’s home matches

International Hockey Federation (FIH), the sport’s governing body announced that Bhubaneswar will host India’s home matches of 2020 Hockey Pro League. Odisha’s Capital Bhubaneswar has become a hockey hub in India as it has been hosting a majority of tournaments. The city most recently hosted Olympic qualifiers.

Key Highlights

The 2020 Hockey Pro League will be played between 11 January and 28 June 2020. It will feature 144 matches in the coming season.

The first match will feature the Netherlands and China on 11 January 2020 at the Wujin Hockey Stadium in Changzhou, China.

The first team that India will host in second Hockey Pro League is the Netherlands on January 18.

Australia’s home matches will be played in Perth and Sydney and England will be playing its share in London, UK.


ASIA: India: Bhubaneswar; China: Changzhou

EUROPE: Germany: Mengladbach, Hamburg, Berlin; Spain: Valencia; Great Britain: London; The Netherlands: Utrecht, Rotterdam, Hertogenbosch, Amsterdam; Belgium: Antwerp

USA: North Carolina; Argentina: Buenos Aires, San Miguel de Tucuman

Australia: Perth, Sydney; New Zealand: Christchurch, Auckland