IOA Current Affairs - 2020

Govt. constitutes committee for reviewing draft of National Code for Good Governance in Sports

Union Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports (MYAS) has constituted a 13-member expert committee to review the Draft National Code for Good Governance in Sports, 2017.

Key Highlights

Members: The committee will be chaired by Retired SC Justice Mukundakam Sharma and member includes former Indian football team captain Baichung Bhutia, Pullela Gopichand, Anju Bobby George, Olympic medalist Gagan Narang, among others. Moreover, Joint Secretary of Sports will act as coordinator in committee.

Expert Committee: Terms of Reference

The committee will be required to suggest measures for making Draft National Code for Good Governance in Sports, 2017 acceptable to all stakeholders so that a balance is struck between autonomy of National Sports Federations (NSF).

Committee’s recommendations are needed for accountability and transparency and would also help bring government as well as all stakeholders on the same page as far as code is concerned.

Committee will also examine comments received from Indian Olympic Association (IOA) and others on draft of National Code for Good Governance in Sports, 2017 and will be required to review draft of national code with present code.

IOA President Narinder Batra elected to IOC

Narinder Batra, President of Indian Olympic Association (IOA) was elected as a member of International Olympic Committee (IOC) in Lausanne, Switzerland. He secured 58 votes out of 62 polled.

About Narinder Batra

He was elected to prestigious seat during the 134th IOC Session being held in Lausanne, Switzerland.

His election is linked to his function in a National Olympic Committee that is president of Indian Olympic Association (IOA).

Achievement: He now has a rare distinction of becoming a IOC member, while heading a National Olympic Committee as well as an international federation. He is also the 1st Indian to have this distinction. He has already become 1st Indian to head an international federation of an Olympic sport which is that of FIH (International Hockey Federation).

Indian IOC Members:

With Batra now being elected to IOC, the number of Indians who are currently active members of IOC will increase to two.

In 2016 Nita Ambani Chairperson of Reliance Foundation, was elected as an individual member of IOC. She is 1st Indian woman to be elected to prestigious seat.

Randhir Singh, Former IOA Secretary General has also served as a member of IOC from 2001 to 2014 and has been made an honorary member since then.

About International Olympic Committee

IOC is non-governmental sports organization that was founded on 23 June 1894 in Paris, France.

It is the supreme authority of Olympic Movement and is headquartered at Lausanne, Switzerland.

It acts as a catalyst for collaboration between all parties of the Olympic family and shepherds success through a wide range of programmes and projects.

It ensures regular celebration of Olympic Games, supports all affiliated member organisations of Olympic Movement and strongly encourages, promotion of Olympic values by appropriate means.