Jamica Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Jamaican author Marlon James wins 2015 Man Booker Prize

Jamaican author Marlon James has won the prestigious 2015 Man Booker Prize for his novel A Brief History of Seven Killings. With this, he became first Jamaican to win Man Booker Prize.

His 680-page epic novel is inspired by the attempted assassination on Jamaican reggae musician Bob Marley in the 1970s. It has been published by Oneworld Publications.

Judges had shortlished James’s from a list of 8 writers including him along with India’s Sunjeev Sahota, Hanya Yanagihara, Tom McCarthy, Anne Tyler, Chigozie Obioma and Marlon James.

About Man Booker prize

  • Established: It was launched in 1969 and presented by the Man Group,
  • It aims at promoting the finest literary work in fiction by rewarding the best novel of the year written in English and published in the United Kingdom.
  • Award Carries: cash prize of 50,000 pounds.
  • The authors are shortlisted by judges from a wide range of disciplines and all with a passion for quality fiction.

Month: Categories: Awards