Japan Current Affairs

Professor Hiroshi Marui conferred with 3rd ICCR Distinguished Indologist Award

The third Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR) Distinguished Indologist Award for the year 2017 was awarded to Professor Hiroshi Marui of Japan.

He was presented with this award by President Ram Nath Kovind at a function in Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi. Indology is academic study of history, cultures, languages and literature of India and is a subset of Asian studies.

Professor Hiroshi Marui

Professor Marui has spent over 40 years working on Indian philosophy and Buddhist Studies. His has many acclaimed publications and research papers to his credit which are considered as final authority on several subjects world. He is President of Japanese Association of Indian and Buddhist Studies and has made significant contribution to Indology in Japan.

About Distinguished ICCR Indologist Award

ICCR Distinguished Indologist Award is an annual award instituted by ICCR. It carries prize amount of US$ 20000. It is bestowed upon eminent Indologists working abroad who have made outstanding contribution to study, research, teaching of India’s history, philosophy, thought, art, culture, literature, languages, civilization, society etc. The first award was given to Prof. Heinrich Freiherr Von Stietencron of Germany in 2015. Prof. Yu Long Yu of China was awarded in 2016.


Indian women’s hockey team wins 2017 Asia Cup title

Indian women’s hockey team won the 2017 Asia Cup hockey title. In the final match held at Kakamigahara in Japan, India defeated China by 5-4 goals in penalty shootout. With this victory, India qualified for 2018 World Cup and women’s hockey team win closely follows victory of men’s side in October 2017. It was India’s second Women’s Asia Cup title and first one was won in 2004.

Key Facts

In regular time interval, both Indian and Chinese team had equalled by scoring one goal each. For India it was scored by Navjot Kaur (25th minute) and for China it was scored by Tiantian Luo (47th minute). In the penalty shootout, Rani scored twice while Monica, Lilima Minz and Navjot scored a goal each for India. Monika Malik won Woman of Match award, Savita Punia was adjudged Goalkeeper of the Tournament. South Korea secured third place in 2017 Asia Cup hockey title with a 1-0 win over Japan.