Japan Current Affairs - 2020

Indian women’s hockey team wins 2017 Asia Cup title

Indian women’s hockey team won the 2017 Asia Cup hockey title. In the final match held at Kakamigahara in Japan, India defeated China by 5-4 goals in penalty shootout. With this victory, India qualified for 2018 World Cup and women’s hockey team win closely follows victory of men’s side in October 2017. It was India’s second Women’s Asia Cup title and first one was won in 2004.

Key Facts

In regular time interval, both Indian and Chinese team had equalled by scoring one goal each. For India it was scored by Navjot Kaur (25th minute) and for China it was scored by Tiantian Luo (47th minute). In the penalty shootout, Rani scored twice while Monica, Lilima Minz and Navjot scored a goal each for India. Monika Malik won Woman of Match award, Savita Punia was adjudged Goalkeeper of the Tournament. South Korea secured third place in 2017 Asia Cup hockey title with a 1-0 win over Japan.

Hans Joachim Schellnhuber wins 2017 Blue Planet Prize

Prof Hans Joachim Schellnhuber from Germany won 2017 Blue Planet Prize, world’s most prestigious award for pioneers in environmental science.

He was awarded for establishing new field of science ‘Earth System Analysis’ and introducing most influential concepts including the notion of tipping elements in the climate system in Tokyo. He is Director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK).

Beside him, Prof. Gretchen C. Daily from US also won the award for her work promoting practical conservation by revealing the value of nature.

Blue Planet Prize

It is the world’s most prestigious award for pioneers in environmental science and often considered as Nobel Prize for environmental research. It was instituted by Asahi Glass Foundation. It honours outstanding thinkers who help to meet challenges of planetary dimensions. It carries prize of 50 million yen (about $450,000) and is handed over in presence of Japan’s Imperial Prince and Princess.

Previous recipients of prize include the Syukuro Manabe who is considered as godfather of climate modelling,   Norway’s former Prime Minister Gro Harlem Brundtland and Charles Keeling who gave his name to the famous Keeling curve of atmospheric CO2 concentration measurements.