Japan Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

US wins Women’s FIFA World Cup for 3rd time

United States (US) won the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup. It is overall third world cup title of US.

In the World Cup final match played at Vancouver, Canada US defeated Japan by 5-2 goals score. US captain and skipper Carli Lloyd scored three goals. Lauren Holiday and Tobin Heath scored one goal each.

2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup Awards

  • Golden Ball Award: Carli Lloyd (US), Amandine Henry (France), Aya Miyama (Japan).
  • Golden Boot Award: Celia Sasic (Germany), Carli Lloyd (US), Anja Mittag (Germany).
  • Golden Glove Award: Hope Solo (US).
  • Young Player Award: Kadeisha Buchanan (Canada).
  • Fair Play Award: France.

About Women’s FIFA World Cup

  • Established: 1991 (61 years after the men’s first FIFA World Cup held in 1930).
  • Played every 4 years amongst women’s national football teams of the member states of FIFA.
  • After it establishment it was known as Women’s World Cup tournament.
  • Most wins: United States for 3 times (1991, 1999 and 2015), followed by Germany 2 times (2003, 2007).

Month: Categories: InternationalSports & Games


Historian-writer Ramachandra Guha selected for Japan’s Fukuoka Prize

Eminent Historian-writer Ramachandra Guha has been selected for Japan’s Fukuoka Prize 2015 in n the Academic category.

Apart from him Thant Myint-U (Grand Prize category) and Minh Hanh (Arts and Culture category) were also chosen for this edition of award. They have been selected for their outstanding contributions to academia, arts and culture across Asia.

The awards will be presented to them on September 17, 2015 at the Fukuoka International Congress Centre. During this award ceremony Mr Guha will give a lecture on “Gandhi, India and the World”.

About Ramchandra Guha

  • He is historian and writer. His research interests include social, political, environmental and cricket history.
  • He also write as a columnist in various newspapers including The Telegraph and Hindustan Times and also pens for the magazines The Caravan and Outlook.
  • His famous bibliography: Gandhi Before India (2013), Patriots and Partisans (2012), Makers of Modern India (2010), India after Gandhi: The history of the world’s largest democracy (2007) etc.
  • Awards: Padma Bhushan (2009), Sahitya Akademi award (2011) for India After Gandhi.
  • For year 2011–12, he had served as the Philippe Roman Chair of International Affairs and History at the London School of Economics.

About Fukuoka Prize

  • Established: in 1990 by the Japanese city of Fukuoka and the Yokatopia Foundation.
  • It is an annual prize that honours the outstanding work of individuals or organizations in preserving or creating Asian culture.
  • Prize has three categories: Grand Prize, Academic Prize, and Arts and Culture Prize.
  • The award ceremony is held in every year in September (which is also known as Asian Month in Fukuoka) along with the public forums by the prize winners.
  • Winners of 2014 are Mohammad Yunus, Romila Thapar, Ashis Nandy and Mo Yan.

Month: Categories: Awards & HonoursPersons in News