Japan Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Japanese architect Mr. Shigeru Ban won the Pritzker Architecture Prize 2014

The Japanese architecture, Mr. Shigeru Ban (56) won the Pritzker Architecture Prize 2014 for his unique approach in using materials viz. paper tubes, bamboo and shipping containers.

About Mr. Shigeru Ban

  • Known for his creative and inexpensive designs for disaster relief shelters.
  • Purpose: To build an inexpensive and easy-to-construct-and- dismantle structures.
  • Designed a range of buildings to help victims of natural disasters and refugees in places viz. Rwanda, Turkey, India, China, Haiti,Japan, etc.
  • Uses cardboard tubes to make temporary housing in disaster zones.
  • Notable work: the seven-storied wooden office-building in Zurich, and the church made of cardboard tubes and colour glasses in Christchurch, New Zealand.

 Pritzker Architecture Prize

  • Establish: 1979.
  • Awarded for: A career of achievement in the art of architecture.
  • Sponsor: Hyatt Foundation.
  • Prize: $100,000, a citation and a bronze medallion.

 Note: Mr. Ban would be the seventh Japanese architect to receive the prize when it is given away on June 13, 2014 in Amsterdam.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

Ukraine crisis 2014: G8 Summit in Russia cancelled

The US and top economic powers have cancelled the G8 Summit to build pressure on Russia against its military action in Ukraine.

The leaders of Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, the US, the President of the European Council and the President of the European Commission took the decision in The Hague that the G8 Summit scheduled in Sochi in June, 2014 would be replaced by a G7 meeting in Brussels, without Russian involvement.

The G-7 countries stated that they will suspend their participation in the G-8 until Russia changes course and the environment comes back to where the G-8 is able to have a meaningful discussion.

Note:Russia was added to the G7 club of the US, Japan, Germany, Italy, France, Canada and Britain in 1999 as a reward for choosing the path of democracy after the collapse of Communism.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App