Jnanpith award Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Raghu Karnad wins Windham-Campbell Prize

Indian Writer Raghu Karnad has won the Windham-Campbell Prize $165,000 Windham-Campbell Prize in the non-fiction category for his debut book, The Farthest Field: An Indian Story Of The Second World War. Karnad is one of the eight winners chosen across four categories—fiction, non-fiction, drama and poetry. The other awardee in the non-fiction category was American writer Rebecca Solnit for the diverse body of work she has produced over her career.

Raghu Karnad is the second Indian to receive the award. Earlier in 2016, Jerry Pinto had won the award for his novel, Em And The Big Hoom. Raghu Karnad is the son of legendary writer and the Jnanpith awardee Girish Karnad.

Windham-Campbell Prize

The Windham-Campbell Prize is administered by the  Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library at Yale University in the US and was established in 2013.

The award was constituted with the generous gift from writer Donald Windham in memory of his partner Sandy Campbell. The jury selects two winners each for each of the category fiction, non-fiction, drama and poetry.

Month: Categories: Awards


Renowned English writer Amitav Ghosh selected for Jnanpith Award, 2018

Renowned English fiction writer Amitav Ghosh has been selected for Jnanpith award, 2018. This has been announced by Jnanpith Selection Board on 14 December 2018.

About Amitav Ghosh

Amitav Ghosh was born in Calcutta in 1956. He is an alumnus of Doon School, Dehradun, St. Stephen’s College, Delhi University and Delhi School of Economics. He was awarded Padma Shri in 2007 and was elected as Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2009. He was also named Ford Foundation Art of Change Fellow in 2015.

His works

The Circle of Reason (1986) was his first novel. Other fiction works include  The Shadow Lines (1988), The Calcutta Chromosome (1995), The Glass Palace (2000), The Hungry Tide (2004). He has also written three works as a part of The Ibis trology of which the first volume is Sea of Poppies (2008); second volume is River of Smoke (2011); and third volume is Flood of Fire (2015).

His notable non-fiction works include Antique Land (1992), Dancing in Cambodia and at Large in Burma (1998), Countdown (1999), and The Imam and the Indian (2002), The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable (2016) etc.

About Jnanpith Award

Jnanpith award was instituted in 1961. Via this award, the Bhartiya Jnanpith recognises Indian litterateurs who write in one of the 22 Indian languages listed in the Schedule Eight of the Indian Constitution. The winners receive a cash prize, a citation and a bronze replica of Goddess Saraswati. Famour Malyalam writer G.S. Kurup was first winner of Jnanpith award.

Month: Categories: Awards