Kenya Current Affairs - 2020

Lazarus Chakwera elected as New President of Malawi following Evidence of Irregularities in 2019 Elections

On 23rd June 2020, the Presidential Elections of Malawi was conducted after the annulment of the results of the 2019 Presidential Elections by the Constitutional Court of Malawi earlier in the month of February 2020.

Lazarus Chakwera was elected as the new President of Malawi after winning 2,604,043 votes, which is 59.34 percent of the total valid votes. 2019 Presidential Election winner Peter Mutharika secured 39.92 percent of the total valid votes in the 2020 Presidential Elections.

This is the second incidence of Annulment of Election in the Africa Continent in the last 4 years, in August 2017 the Presidential Election of Kenya was annulled.


The 2019 Presidential Election was conducted on 21st May 2019 in which Peter Mutharika become the President of Malawi by securing the highest 38.57 percent of the total valid votes.

The election results were highly criticized by the opposition parties of Malawi and called the election as the Tipp-Ex election. Tip-Ex is a popular correction fluid. The opposition parties claimed that the correction fluid Tip-Ex was used for tampering the votes. Based on the allegations, the Constitutional Court of Malawi founded irregularities and evidence of vote tampering during the investigations.

This led to the annulment of the 2019 Presidential Election by the Constitutional Court on 3rd February 2020.

India will be UNSC President for August 2021

After securing 184 out of the total 192 votes on 17th June 2020, India became a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) for a period of 2 years. India’s term will begin on 1st January 2021. Apart from India, Norway, Kenya, Ireland, and Mexico were also elected for a period of 2 years as non-permanent members.

The post of the presidency of the UN Security Council is rotated among the 15 member states (5 permanent, 10 non-permanent) every month. Based on that, India will have the presidency of the UN Security Council in the month of August 2021 and again for a month in the year 2022.

India was last elected as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council for the years 2011-2012.

United Nations Security Council

For ensuring peace and security across the world, the United Nations has a total of six principal organs, out of the six, the Security Council is one of the principal organs. The United Nations Security Council was formed in the year 1945.

The Council has a total of 15 member states of which 5 are permanent members (United States, France, China, Russia, and the United Kingdom), this 5 permanent members only have the right to use the power of veto against any resolution.

The remaining 10 non-permanent members are elected among the other member states of the United Nations for a period of 2 years.

As compared to the other principal organs of the United Nations, the UNSC is the only authorized body under the United Nations that can issue a binding resolution on the member states if the members of the Council vote in favor of the resolution.