Lalit Kala Akademi Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Lalit Kala Akademi announces 60th National Academy Award winners

Lalit Kala Akademi has announced the winners of the 15 winners of the 60th Annual Academy Awards. The winners were selected by a two-tier jury. The awardees will be honoured with a plaque, a shawl and prize money of Rs 1 lakh during the 60th National Exhibition of Art.

The winners of the 60th National Academy Awards conferred by Lalit Kala Akademi are Chandan Kumar Samal (Odisha), Gouri Vemula (Telangana), Hemant Rao (Madhya Pradesh), Hiren Kumar Chotu Bhai Patel (Gujarat), Jaya Jena (Odisha), Jayesh K.K (Kerala), Jitendra Suresh Sutar (Maharashtra), Douglas Maryan John (Maharashtra), Pratap Chandra Chakraborty (West Bengal), Rashmi Singh (Uttar Pradesh), Sachin Kashinath Chaudhari (Maharashtra), Sunil Kumar Viswakarma (Uttar Pradesh), Tabassum Khan (Bihar), Vasudeo Taranath Kamath (Maharashtra) and Veenita Sadguru Chendvankar (Goa).

Lalit Kala Akademi

Lalit Kala Akademi established in 1954 is an autonomous organisation under Ministry of Culture. It is head quartered in New Delhi.

The Akademi aims to promote and propagate the understanding of Indian art, in and outside the country in the field of visual arts such as painting, sculpture and graphics etc. The Akademi works to preserve the glorious traditions of the past and enrich them with the works of the modern artist.

Month: Categories: Awards


President appoints Uttam Pacharne as Chairman of Lalit Kala Akademi

President Ram Nath Kovind has appointed Uttam Pacharne as regular Chairman of Lalit Kala Akademi. He will have tenure of three years from the date on which he assumes the charge of his office. He will replace ML Srivastava, Joint Secretary (Akademies), Ministry of Culture who was appointed protem chairman of Akademi in March 2018.

Uttam Pacharne

He is eminent artist and sculptor and is widely respected person in field of art. He has held various important positions in various government organisations. He is recipient of National Lalit Kala Award (1985), Maharashtra Gaurav Puraska (1985), Junior National Award (1986) and Jeevan Gaurav Puraskar (2017). Currently, he is Member of Advisory Committee, Kala Academy, Goa and Member of Advisory Committee, P.L. Deshpande State Lalit Kala Academy and Director, Janseva Sahakari Bank Borivali.

Lalit Kala Akademi

It is India’s national academy to promote and propagate understanding of Indian art, in and outside the country. It is also called as National Academy of Art.  It is autonomous organisation funded by Ministry of Culture.  It was established in 1954. It provides scholarships and fellow program and sponsors and organises exhibitions in India and overseas. It publishes bilingual journal.

Month: Categories: Persons in News