Libya Current Affairs - 2020

Ahmed Maiteeq- Libya’s youngest and fifth Prime Minister since dictator Kadhafi was toppled and killed in 2011 uprising

Businessman Ahmed Maiteeq (42) of Libya’s National Conference has been elected as the new Prime Minister. Maiteeq defeated his rival Omar al-Hassi, a university professor. It comes three weeks after former PM Abdullah al-Thinni resigned from the post.

Libya has been grappling with instability since armed groups threw out Muammar Gaddafi’s regime in 2011. Maiteeq will have to tackle the lawlessness and insecurity currently destabilizing the country. He is the fifth Prime Minister to be appointed to lead the country in the past two and a half years. 

India re-elected to ICAO Council

India has been re-elected to the new Council of International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) as one of the states making the largest contribution in facilitating global air navigation. The elections were held at the 38th session of the Assembly of ICAO in Montreal.

What is ICAO?


International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO)

Estblished: 1944, as a specialized agency of the United Nations to promote the safe and orderly development of international civil aviation throughout the world.

Functions: It sets standards and regulations necessary for aviation safety, security, efficiency, capacity and environmental protection, apart from serving as the forum for cooperation in all fields of civil aviation among its 191 member states.

Term of the Council3 years
No. of Member:   36 members
Categories:   3 categories. 

The Structure of present Council is as follows:
  • PART I – (States of chief importance in air transport) – Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russian Federation, United Kingdom and the United States. All of them have been re-elected.
  • PART II –  (States which make the largest contribution to the provision of facilities for international civil air navigation) – Argentina, Egypt, India, Mexico, Nigeria, Norway, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain and Venezuela. Except Norway, Portugal and Venezuela, all others have been re-elected.
  • PART III– (States ensuring geographic representation)- Bolivia, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chile, Dominican Republic, Kenya, Libya, Malaysia, Nicaragua, Poland, Republic of Korea, United Arab Emirates and United Republic of Tanzania. Bolivia, Chile, Dominican Republic, Kenya, Libya, Nicaragua, Poland and United Republic of Tanzania have been elected for the first time.