Lifetime Achievement Award Current Affairs - 2020

UK-India Awards 2019: Mark Tully gets Lifetime Achievement Award

Veteran British journalist Sir Mark Tully was conferred with ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ at UK-India Awards in London for his contributions to UK-India relationship.

About Mark Tully

He is the former Bureau Chief of BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation) in New Delhi, India. Previously he had been knighted by Queen Elizabeth II in UK and conferred with Padma Bhushan in India.

About UK-India Awards

These are annual awards, which celebrate special talents and organisations that use their worldwide influence to strengthen ties between UK-India. It is invitation-only black-tie dinner and glittering awards ceremony that celebrates winning partnership between UK and India.

Award ceremony marked the conclusion of annual UK-India Week 2019, which kicked off with 1st ever ‘India Day’ in Houses of Parliament complex in London.

UK-India Awards 2019, marks the 3rd year of Awards and holds significance as for the first time they were selected by an all-women judging panel.

It is organised by India Inc., a media house based in London that produces incisive content and events on investment, trade and policy matters relating to India’s increasingly globalised economic and strategic agenda.

Criteria: All nominees and winners are inspirational figures at cutting edge of business, technology, innovation, international relations and culture, who are doing amazing work in making UK-India partnership truly winning one.

Other Winners 2019

  • Market Entrant of the Year category– Oyo, Indian hospitality start-up
  • Social Impact category– British Telecom (BT)
  • Global Indian Icon of the Year– Kunal Nayyar, best known for his role as Rajesh Koothrappali on US sitcom The Big Bang Theory
  • Special Significant Contribution to UK-India Relations Award- to Indian-origin peer and Cobra Beer founder Lord Karan Bilimoria
  • Start-up of the Year Award- Maanch, a new platform that matches up funders and receivers to accelerate global sustainable development

7th National Photography Awards

The 7th National Photography Awards were presented by Union Minister of State (IC) for Information & Broadcasting Col. Rajyavardhan Rathore. The seventh edition of National Photography Awards was organised at National Media Centre in New Delhi.

The theme for the Professional category was “Women-led Development” and theme for Amateur category was “Fairs and Festivals of India”.

Awardees List

A total of 13 awards were presented during the ceremony. The Lifetime Achievement Award has a cash prize of Rs.3,00,000. The awards in Professional Photographer of the Year category and Amateur Photographer of the Year category had a cash prize of Rs.1,00,000 and Rs.75,000 respectively. 5 Special Mention Awards in both Professional and Amateur categories were awarded with cash prize of Rs.50,000/- and Rs.30,000/- each respectively. The winner’s list is enlisted below:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Shri Ashok Dilwali.
  • Professional Photographer of the Year – Shri SL Shanth Kumar.
  • Amateur Photographer of the Year – Shri Gurdeep Dhiman.
  • Special Mention Awards (Professional) – Shri Arun Sreedhar, Shri P.V. Sunderrao, Shri Kailash Mittal, Shri Mihir Singh, Ms Ranita Roy.
  • Special Mention Awards (Amateur) – Shri V. Ravi Kumar, Ms. S. Neelima, Shri Manish Jaisi, Shri Mahesh Balasaheb Lonkar, Shri Avijit Datta.

National Photography Awards

National Photography Awards are presented by the Photo Division under Ministry of I&B. The Photo Division previously existed as a separate Unit and now has been brought under the aegis of PIB.

National Photography Awards aims to promote art and technique of photography and to encourage professional and amateur photographers from all corners of the country.