Lionel Messi Current Affairs

Lionel Messi announces retirement from Argentinean Football team

Barcelona FC star Lionel Messi (29) has announced retirement from Argentinean Football team. However, he will continue to play his club football for FC Barcelona.

He made this announcement after Argentina was defeated by Chile in the 2016 Copa America final in the penalty shootout by 4-2 score. He had missed the penalty in the final match.

About Lionel Messi

  • In his football career with Argentinean team, Lionel Messi had played four finals at different titles for his country. It includes 2014 World Cup final and three Copa America finals.
  • He had made his senior international debut in 2005. He is Argentina’s all-time top scorer, with 55 goals from 113 match appearances.
  • He plays at the forward position for Argentinean team and for the Spanish FC Barcelona.
  • He is the only footballer to win five FIFA Ballons d’Or, four of which he had won consecutively. He also the first football player to win three European Golden Shoes.
  • With Barcelona, he had won eight La Liga titles and four Champions Leagues. But with Argentinean Football team, his only major international honour was gold in 2008 Olympic.


Lionel Messi wins 2015 FIFA Ballon d’Or award

Barcelona FC forward Lionel Messi from Argentina has won the 2015 FIFA Ballon d’Or Award.

He has earned this title of world’s best football player for record fifth time. Earlier he was conferred with this award in 2010 (inaugural), 2011, 2012 and 2012.

For this edition of prize, Messi secured 41.33% of the votes pipped current holder and three-time winner Cristiano Ronaldo (27.76% votes), as well as his Barclona teammate Neymar (7.86% votes).

Other 2015 winners

  • FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year: Carli Lloyd (United States)
  • FIFA Puskás Award: Wendell Lira.
  • World Coach of the Year (Men’s): Luis Enrique (Barcelona FC).
  • World Coach of the Year (Women’s): Jill Ellis (United Staes).
  • FIFA Fair Play Award: All football organisations supporting refugees

About FIFA Ballon d’Or Award

  • It is an annual football association award given by FIFA to the male player who has performed the best in the previous calendar year.
  • This award was instituted in 2010 after France Football’s Ballon d’Or and the men’s FIFA World Player of the Year award were merged.

It is awarded to the male player, based upon highest votes secured by him from national team coaches and captains, as well as journalists from around the world.