Lok Sabha Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

India earns $100 million by launching 45 foreign satellites: Government

India has earned about US 100 million dollars by launching 45 commercial foreign satellites from 19 countries.

The revenue was earned by Antrix, the commercial arm of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO).

This information was given by Union Science and Technology Minister Jitendra Singh in a written reply in the Lok Sabha.

It was also announced this revenue from the commercial space missions will further grow with launch of 28 foreign satellites between 2015 and 2017. In this regard Antrix has signed agreements with six countries viz. Algeria, Canada, Germany, Indonesia, Singapore and US.

Apart from this, the minister also informed that ISRO has launched 72 indigenous satellites from Satish Dhawan space centre, Sriharikota in Andhra Pradesh using indigenous launch vehicles viz. Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV). In addition, ISRO also has successfully launched four micro and nano satellites built by students of Indian universities. In future six indigenous satellites are also to be launched by Mach 2016.

14 States, UTs achieve literacy rate of 80%: Government

Union Government has announced that 14 States and Union Territories (UTs) have achieved or exceeded the literacy rate of 80 percent.

It was announced by Union Human Resource Development Minister Smriti Irani in a written reply to the Lok Sabha.

14 States and UTs are:  Kerala, Lakshadweep, Mizoram, Goa, Tripura, Daman and Diu, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, NCR of Delhi, Chandigarh, Puducherry, Himachal Pradesh, Maharashtra, Sikkim and Tamil Nadu.

Union Government’s flagship scheme of Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan has helped to improve literacy rate. For implementing the scheme, Centre has helped the States and UTs. The literacy of adults has been covered under the Saakshar Bharat Programme.

It was also announced that 10 States and UTs have also been able to reduce gender gap to 10 per cent or less. These states are Punjab, Chandigarh, Nagaland, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, Goa, Lakshadweep, Kerala and Andaman and Nicobar Islands.